The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

A Routine Game

with one comment

Playing with Roxie at the club, I pick up a not-quite-monster hand.

S: xx H: Ax D: KQx C: AKQ9xx

As dealer (none vulnerable) I have an easy One Club opening, and my LHO bids Two Clubs a Michael’s cue bid showing five-five (or better) in the majors. Back when I was learning people played that a Michael’s hand was either weak (5-10) or Strong, but now it just shows shape. Roxie bids Two Diamonds. We are playing “Unusual vs Unusual” so her two diamonds bid is defined as constructive but not forcing. Normally 6-10 points or so.

My RHO bids Two Hearts. With Roxie having values, I have a monster and I start with Two Spades. My LHO passes and Roxie retreats back to Three Diamonds, probably showing a sixth diamond, but maybe five diamonds with nothing better to say. I bid Three Spades, a “western” (stopper asking) cue bid. If Roxie has the spade king, three no trump should be cold from her side. She gives this a thought and then bids Five Clubs.

So I guess Roxie has three clubs with her diamonds, but nothing in spades. I try and talk myself into a slam, but if Roxie had a stiff spade she might have bid four spades, and if she has a stiff spade and doesn’t want to show it, slam is probably pretty bad. I Pass. I suspect I might take all the tricks without a spade lead, but maybe the opening leader has AK of spades. I also considered playing in diamonds, but I know the club spots are good and if I get a bad club break, it will be under my clubs (whereas a bad diamond break would be over Roxie’s diamonds).

Nope, I get a heart lead and make all the tricks when dummy hits with

S: xx H: Qx D: A9xxxx C: Jxx

Dummy’s heart queen is covered by the king and ace. I play two rounds of clubs, LHO not unexpectedly showing up. I play the diamond king to see if LHO has a void and when he doesn’t I claim the rest (pulling trump and running the diamonds).

A routine, easy game …. until I look at the hand later on.

The Michaels hand was actually 6-5. S : KQTxxx H : JT9xx D:J C: x. But that means that fourth hand, which bid two-only hearts over Roxie’s hand had a monster of his own S: AJx H: Kxxx D: Txx C: Txx. That was easily worth a four heart bid, (you have a nine card fit, all your points are working!) which would have put the screws to me.

In fact I have a 4 NT bid as “I am unsure which minor to play in” implying a diamond fit but excellent clubs, and we’ll get to the same place. But note:

  • Some pairs might pass 4 Hearts. I can make game in either minor, but EW can make game in either major!
  • Some pairs may not know the 4NT bid and get to the wrong minor. Yes, on this hand that doesn’t matter, but on other hands.
  • Finally, and most importantly, if my RHO bids 4 Hearts then LHO (with a sixth spade) should take the sacrifice at five hearts, which is a good sacrifice.

And if another pair wasn’t playing Unusual vs Unusual, they might have passed instead of bidding two diamonds, and the four heart bid could bury our diamond fit. (Again, with my hand I’m probably not passing four hearts, but without knowing about the fit I’d probably double and partner …. might leave it in! Disaster! But with a slightly different hand, five diamonds would be a disaster).

So it was only a routine, easy game to bid because my RHO didn’t appreciate the value of his hand and bid two-only hearts. Sure, in this case all roads led to five of a minor, but failing to put pressure on your opponents is just giving away matchpoints.

Written by taogaming

June 17, 2024 at 3:01 pm

Posted in Bridge

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 6=5, I came alive. My RHO opened 1C. I preempted 2S since good 6-bad 5’s are better than just regular 5-5’s, and I wanted partner to realize how good spade cards were. LHO paused and passed (according to my partner, but I didn’t notice it), partner passed, RHO rebid 3C, I bid 3H, LHO bid 4C, partner free bid 4H, RHO tried 5C, but now I had an easy sacrifice in 5H, doubled by RHO. I went down just 2, even after misplaying trumps (I have a no-brainer play of finessing my HJ for just down 1).

    Anonymous

    June 17, 2024 at 5:38 pm


Leave a comment