The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Not much going on

I haven’t even played Factorio in a week. It’s just been a slow month with general bad news and blasé feelings all around. (Two funerals and a friend in the hospital will do that, I suppose).

I did teach High Frontier a few times … and the Taoling and I played a multiple (basic) games today, although our last game we extended by requiring 7 colonies (instead of four) to end it. I continue to prove that I am bad at this game, I got swept by the boy. Although … we restarted once when he misplanned his first mission after some rules confusion. (Yes, your crew has an ISRU rating, but they are not a robonaut for purposes of industrialization. In his defense, he asked me but I thought he was asking something else).

He also ended a game with an illegal landing (he had 10 thrust but needed 11), but I just gave it to him with the commissioner’s asterisk.

I’ve been thinking that perhaps a PBF CEO solitaire game (me and interested readers versus the game) may be a good way to learn some of the nuances of the advanced game. Any interest?

The only other (new) game I’ve played recently is 7 Wonders: Duel, which was good enough that I’d play again. Not enthusiastic, but not indifferent. Somewhere between them, until I play a few more times.

Written by taogaming

May 21, 2017 at 8:24 pm

Posted in Session Reports

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’d participate in a PBF CEO game, although I’d be relying on my rapidly fading memory of my last play for the rules.

    Mark Delano

    May 23, 2017 at 11:25 am


Comments are closed.

