The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

More Factorio, all the time

  1. I watched Anti-Elitz’s new WR speedrun live. Another “Well, I can’t get any geekier” moment come and gone. (I actually went and had lunch during some of the early restarts, but I saw the last 1.5 hours of the WR run). As I said to Mrs. Tao — The difference between this and the rest of the nation’s sports viewing today is that they’ll never actually play college basketball. (Some of A.E.s new designs are clever, although he’s optimizing for fewest keystrokes/mouseclicks instead of other aspects. But optimization is optimization).
  2. I wrote an actual strategy post for Factorio and posted it to reddit. It concerns the use of negative feedback to promote factory resilience. And I say (with all due modesty) that a) that’s a better title and b) more use of control theory than my Master’s Thesis. That would have really depressed me 25 years ago.
Written by taogaming

March 26, 2017 at 7:49 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It just warms my heart to read these posts. I feel like one of the few things I did in the last year with any lasting value was to say, “No, Brian, you haven’t played Factorio to the point where it’s interesting yet, just give it a little more time, you’ll see.”

    Robert Rossney

    March 27, 2017 at 4:09 pm

    • I cannot argue with that.

      taogaming

      March 27, 2017 at 4:53 pm

      • Although when I spent hours debugging trains I wonder just how valuable your advice was.

        taogaming

        March 27, 2017 at 4:54 pm

  2. THE SUSPENSE IS KILLING ME! What is point #3?

    Tyson Stanek

    March 27, 2017 at 8:28 pm

  3. You can always get geekier.

    Eric Brosius

    March 29, 2017 at 6:51 pm


Comments are closed.

