The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Tiny Malevolent Lifeforms

Got my copy of Jump Drive (note to local game stores. I’m willing to wait a week or two after I see “I got my copy at my FLGS” to buy it, but when you aren’t even willing to admit the game is out, that’s when I go online and buy it).

Anyway, it’s good, but not great. Then again, is the game really meant for me? I’m reminded of the time I told Frank that Fugger, Welser, & Medici’s basic game seemed simple and solvable.

“Yes, by people like us. We play the advanced game.”

It has a lot of depth … for a 10-15 minute game. But now I feel what others did when they said Race was over before it began.

Rating — Suggest, but not as good as Race. Then again, few are.

Edit — “Suggest, but not as good as Race” is probably true. My (80 hours later) thought is that it’s closer than I originally thought. I played the City (which isn’t as good as Race, or Jump Drive, IMO) nearly 100 times and that had a language barrier I had to sell.

Since it is new my de-facto Jump Drive rating is Enthusiastic (but I assume that’s temporary). There are more subtleties than I expected in it (even knowing who designed it). I’m playing it a lot right now. I mention this because the idea of my ratings is objectivity (actions speak louder than words) and my actions rate this higher.

BUT — It was typical for me (time and opponents willing) to play a game 4+ times in a weekend if it was hot, and those were long (Euro or Longer) times. In the same amount of time, you can really crank up Jump Drive’s play count. Given the TaoLing I can come home, play a game, start some soup, play a game while it cooks, take it off the stove to let it cool, play a game, etc.

I’m averaging a game every three hours since I got the game.

Written by taogaming

January 25, 2017 at 8:50 pm

Posted in Race for the Galaxy, Reviews

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. But it’s much more fun than The City, which I’ve got a <20% win rate at even after having Tom give me a one-on-one lesson a couple of years ago.

    I'm still LOVING Race:Xeno (w/ Invasion). Absolutely my favorite way to play Race. Had a crazy game with the kids yesterday, where we went two invasions into a reshuffled Tier 3 deck, where after taking our first loss to the Xeno's early, 3 times we avoided the Tie-Loss to the Xeno's with 1 person barely winning, and where the final scores ended up 44/43/42, with destroyed worlds making all the difference.

    Lou Wainwright

    January 28, 2017 at 7:13 pm

  2. As for comments, see updated edit. Xeno is a hard sell in my local group. The AA arc kind of killed the first arc off locally, but didn’t keep up the enthusiasm. I don’t think I’ve played a Xeno game since I played with you. I did play a few teaching (base) games of Race, in the hopes that they’d buy/play it. No joy.

    We’re really playing Roll down here, and it’s more of a “50% of the time I go to game night.”

    taogaming

    January 29, 2017 at 9:33 am

  3. How does Jump Drive compare to City?
    With the city I felt (after a couple of games, but I dont know how justified that claim is), that you basiccly pick a strategy after the first few cards and run with it and either it works or it doesnt. Once things are in motion, the game is to short to survive a draught in cards that fit to your strategy and if you switch, the others would win.
    So: Is that better in Jump Drive (at least: does it feel better in this regard)?

    peer sylvester

    January 30, 2017 at 10:47 am


Comments are closed.

