The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

The GMT P500 is like The Godfather, Part III

Because “Just when I think I’m out…”

I said to myself for the last few years “After 1846, I’m done” and yet I find myself with two pre-orders (Mr. President and Wild Blue Yonder) and so much temptation. (And I haven’t been able to game much since getting ’46, so I haven’t played it! It needs at least 3, so it’s only a game night option).

I mean, I know that the GMT games are often good, but not the sort of thing I’ll play enough to justify a purchase (usually). But damn, I want to order a large chunk of their December list. I mean, I know that Triumph and Tragedy is unlikely to get more than one game a year (so I’m glad I didn’t get it), but come’on.

  • A “No Retreat” West Front game?
  • Another East Front game by Carl Paradis that is even more introductory? (But I haven’t played NR #1 in years…)
  • SpaceCorp, a space biz game that’s solo-able. This is intriguing, but I think I’ll just keep an eye on it.
  • Hitler’s Reich, Another “All of WWII” in 6 hours or less game. (I’m a sucker for strategic WWII). (This one has a ton of articles on Inside GMT, so I may investigate it in some detail).
  • And if that wasn’t enough, a second “All of WW II” game Cataclysm. I’ve ordered and cancelled this once already.
  • My old gaming buddy Wray Ferrel has a new game, Time of Crisis.
  • An 18th Century game covering England vs France by the Twilight Struggle designers? (Imperial Struggle). OK, I’m not instantly sold (I did sell my copy of TS, after all).

But for now I’m holding off at two. My theory is that if I get a more war-gamey group, they’ll have more wargames I can play.

Ironically I’m not too interested in the “Reverse B-12” game Skies Above the Reich, which is a dedicated solo game. Or the Soloable WWI game Fields of Despair.

What do my GMT/Wargamer Illuminati friends think? Open thread time…

Written by taogaming

December 3, 2016 at 10:55 am

Posted in Open Thread

Tagged with , ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think you mean Part III…

    dougorleans

    December 3, 2016 at 11:20 am

    • “What are you going to do?”
      “Cry Havoc and let slip the Hogs of War”
      Dogs of War”
      “Whatever farm animal of War, Lana”

      Fixed.

      taogaming

      December 3, 2016 at 4:38 pm

  2. Hitler’s Reich isn’t winning me over from the previews, but I haven’t generally liked any of Mark McLaughlin’s games. Cataclysm seems to have a lot more upside and therefore be more worthy of your P500 dollars if you’re so inclined, although it’s also obviously riskier.

    I’m a huge fan of Carl Pradis’ games – I even really liked No Retreat: The Italian Front, which has not exactly been universally well received. But this is another series that GMT has been kind of slow-rolling; NR: France has been just on the horizon of being printed for quite a while. Maybe GMT has been hoping or bump up the preorders that way since demand has been a little bit softer than one might expect. Anyway, the France iteration of NR is one of the most interesting in the series so I hope they get moving on it. The Western Front was a no-brainer for me. Carl needs to start hawking these more aggressively.

    Anyway, I think my pre-orders are Holland ’44 (huge Mark Simonitch fan), Cataclysm, the Panzer & MBT expansions, the two No Retreat games, and Bear’s Claw. I’m a little less sanguine about the euro-ish stuff; Space Corp is a John Butterfield design and his stuff feels a bit too retro to me. GMT hasn’t proven they have the chops as a company to deliver decent non-wargames unless they have a really good designer. Your opinion may be different if you liked Dominant Speices or Urban Sprawl (I did not).

    Chris Farrell

    December 4, 2016 at 12:00 am

    • Working backwards …. Well, I certainly agree with your assessment that GMT is weak on Euros. I got (and quickly sold) Urban Sprawl and only played Dominant Species 2-3 times. Thunder Alley is OK. For me, Retro is a selling point, but I admit it’s a huge risk.

      I’d auto-buy Carl Paradis’ works except I only really ever had one opponent for NR. And he moved away. Even then, it was tough to get a game in. When they announced NR 5 I was like “Wow, I missed 3 and 4” but apparently I didn’t.

      Having now read a preview or two of HR, I’m almost certainly not going to pre-order it. The more I discovered the less I was intrigued. Not to say it looks bad, a lot of ideas seemed reasonable, but I worry about collapsing hand size as a tactic.

      I may re-pre-order Cataclysm, but hopefully I’ll be well informed by that time.

      taogaming

      December 4, 2016 at 10:33 am

  3. Right there with you on MP and WBY. Thanks for the heads up on SpaceCorp. My knee jerk reaction is that it’s Butterfield’s answer to High Frontier.

    ekted

    December 4, 2016 at 10:12 am

    • I really wanted to like High Frontier. (I had the pre-cursor game “Lords of the High Frontier” but I couldn’t make it through the game. Perhaps I should try again (solitaire) to work through the rules. Magic Realm rewarded the effort after all.

      taogaming

      December 4, 2016 at 10:34 am

  4. I’d be very wary of Mr President. Gene’s taste in games is a little questionable. He seriously believes that Empire of the Sun and Fields of Fire are two of the best games GMT has ever made. Every time I hear him opine about games I despair.

    Chris Farrell

    December 4, 2016 at 1:13 pm


Comments are closed.

