The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

I wonder what else I don’t know

After spending ~20 hours playing Magic Realm this weekend, I’ve been wondering what other games I might really enjoy that I’ve missed. It’s undoubtedly a small number. In fact, one of the common themes I’ve noticed is that “Games I was taught by non-gamers” is probably the only constant, because teaching rules well is hard. (I don’t think I’m necessarily better than others, but at least I teach them quickly.

Game First, Rules Later.

The next candidate game I can think of that might actually be good (but my experience with it was mediocre): Divine Right. I remember little about it, but the idea of the non-player kingdoms having rulers that were like little AIs with their own irrationalities strikes me as a good idea. But it has been 25+ years since I played. More (sigh).

I’m not saying it was good, I’m just saying it may be better than I remember. And I’m not actively looking for a copy — since its not a solo-able game — but perhaps I should play it again if I get the chance. And I felt like I should have a non-MR thread. (“Tao of Gaming, Manic/Depressive writing for way too many years.” Not a bad slogan).

So consider this the open thread for games you went back and rediscovered, or just want to spout off on.

Written by taogaming

November 28, 2016 at 7:57 pm

Posted in Open Thread

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It took me much longer than it should have to appreciate Euphrates and Tigris. It wasn’t until 3-4 years after its release that I looked forward to playing.

    For a couple years I avoided even playing Friedrich because I thought it looked silly with the suits on the map. How wrong I was. There is something about the trading of time for cards for position for time that I find thoroughly enjoyable.

    Mark Delano

    November 28, 2016 at 11:03 pm

  2. Anonymous

    November 29, 2016 at 12:41 am

    • I am aware of homogenous rubrics. Played the computer game for a while…

      taogaming

      November 29, 2016 at 6:41 pm

      • Cool. Ever try any of Republic of Rome, Empires of the Middle Ages, Silverton or Wizards (Avalon Hill)?

        Anonymous

        November 29, 2016 at 8:30 pm

    • I’ve tried all of those (EotMA only once, and I’ve forgotten it, but I played Silverton twice or more and owned the other two).

      taogaming

      November 30, 2016 at 10:55 pm

  3. Kingmaker! I can’t find anyone else who wants to play, and it really needs players (no solitaire).

    Bruce Bacher

    November 29, 2016 at 9:36 am

  4. Napoleon’s Triumph, even if you don’t consider yourself a wargamer.

    ekted

    November 29, 2016 at 10:14 am

    • I just discovered Bonaparte at Marengo and yes, Napoleon’s Triumph does look attractive now.

      Mikko Saari

      November 30, 2016 at 4:08 am

      • Despite using a similar system they play very differently. I prefer NT, but BaM is good too.

        Mark Delano

        November 30, 2016 at 10:12 am

      • Yes, those have been on my watchlist for a while, but I lack opponents for 2p wargames.

        taogaming

        November 30, 2016 at 10:55 pm

  5. If you haven’t tried Blood Royale, I had a lot of fun with it 30 years ago. Don’t really miss it, but if someone else wanted to get in a game I can picture playing.

    Most of the games I’ve actually been playing for 30 years+ aren’t really what you’re looking for. Civilization is, but I assume it’s a given. Merchant of Venus? (OK, I’ve only been playing it for 20…)

    Joe Huber

    November 30, 2016 at 6:29 pm

    • Blood Royale I played at least 1-2 all night games of, with little sheets all over the place. I think there’s probably a great iPhone based game in that, or maybe a PBEM…. I eventually sold my copy, but I must admit that might make a good Convention game. Maybe player the first few turns one morning, then a turn every morning and one every evening, with the rest of the day for diplomacy.

      You know — Mega Blood Royale should maybe be a thing, for conventions.

      taogaming

      November 30, 2016 at 10:57 pm

  6. Other than the obvious classics (Dune, Titan, Civilization), there isn’t much from 30+ years ago that I have gone back to with any success. I’ve tried revisiting Magic Realm a couple times in the last 10 years and it’s a wonderfully immersive game, but for me it has a player problem – finding a few people to play it with is a minefield. People know about it by reputation and want to give it a try but don’t want to put in the work required to make the game fun.

    Hitler’s War was surprisingly fun when I broke it out again. You just need to avoid the final set of optional rules, which are truly terrible.

    I think both Freedom in the Galaxy and Swords & Sorcery have the possibility to be really fun if you can live with the time suck.

    I think there was an adaptation of Divine Right for a sci-fi setting (Sword in the Stars maybe?) that seemed slightly more manageable.

    Chris Farrell

    December 4, 2016 at 5:21 pm

    • I think you are right re: Sword in the Stars, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen a copy, so I’m not sure. Never tried FitG or S&S.

      taogaming

      December 4, 2016 at 8:50 pm


Comments are closed.

