The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Your Summer Media

I burned through the first half of Crazy Ex-Girlfriend Season 1, but then it took me 3-4 sessions to watch an episode, as the amount of cringe humor grew. I’ll still probably finish it. Eventually. The songs are fun.

Grace and Frankie was a nice easy watch, and generally amusing.

Stranger Things was quite good, as you’ve probably heard. I think it was good in spite of all the period stuff, which I still consider to be a somewhat cheapening gimmick, although they can be quite useful shorthand about characters. But say one thing about the 80s — you don’t have to work hard to keep people from exchanging information in pre-internet, pre-cell phone era. So that solves one issue….

South Park just started, and its still good. (‘Member when we played Catan? I ‘member! South Park can always have a cheap joke, as far as I care.)

Watched the first episode of Penny Dreadful (liked it) and Mr. Robot (liked it) and Galavant (meh). I watched a few more episodes of Agents of Shield S3, but the TaoLing didn’t seem interested and I’m not. Done. He likes Supergirl, but I’m done when he is. I watched three episodes of Brain Dead, and that was enough of that — it looks like its trying to be a comedy without jokes. I think.

I watched two episodes of Jonathon Strange and Mr. Norrell (I remember liking the book, back when it came out, but not many details). I’ll probably continue it. I finished the Power Puff Girls. The last season is a slog, though. In general the things I watch 1-2 episodes of and like I’ll continue … eventually. I did also watch S3:E1 of Hannibal. Amazingly, Hannibal may be the most beautiful TV show I’ve ever seen (albeit grotesque beauty at times)  but I can’t plow through that show, I only have the rest of S3 left.

Reading — I read a book of Ted Chaing’s short stories. (The Story of Your Life and Others), and they were excellent. I’m also reading the new book by Robert Cialdini (Pre-suasion). Cialdini’s Influence is a must-read, not sure about this. I downloaded the original The Night Lands on Kindle. It’s ok, but the language shows the near century since the book was published. Very slow, even by my tastes. Possibly hurts that I have an idea where the story is going.

Written by taogaming

September 24, 2016 at 2:58 pm

Posted in TV & Media

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ll be curious if you keep going with Penny Dreadful – i started season 1 and it won me over early but then it lost me again by the end of the season. I felt like it ended up with so many characters and plot threads and so little focus that nothing was really allowed to breathe. Very stylish though.

    Because I have to do a bunch of physical therapy these days, I end up watching tv while I do it. With everything on hiatus and my Netflix account inactive until The Fall comes back, I’ve just been watching my discs of the X-Files, which I hadn’t done in many years. That’s a great show. I think the later season (7-9) may have been underappreciated at the time.

    Chris Farrell

    September 25, 2016 at 2:22 am

  2. Finished S2 of Another Period. Not as good as the first, but still had its moments.

    Almost done with Burn Notice. Pretty constant quality with flashes of fun from some of the recurring guest stars (John C. McGinley, Patton Oswalt, Tim Matheson, Tricia Helfer, John Mahoney, Richard Kind).

    Mark Delano

    September 26, 2016 at 4:10 pm


Comments are closed.

