The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

A Small Chess Puzzle

One of my cow-orkers is a chess expert. Despite my years of toiling in the chess mines, I never quite achieved A-level play, and I eventually gave it up for bridge. But he had the following puzzle on his desk and I must admit I found it elegant (after solving it). I don’t know who the puzzle is by.

White to play and win

JP_Chess

Answer in a few days

Written by taogaming

September 3, 2016 at 10:36 pm

Posted in Misc

Tagged with

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Does he enjoy orking cows?

    Eric Brosius

    September 4, 2016 at 2:44 pm

    • It’s a living.

      taogaming

      September 5, 2016 at 10:37 am

      • I think I first saw the cow-orking thing on Usenet years ago, dunno if it predates that.

        Mark Delano

        September 6, 2016 at 1:15 pm

      • I’ve always considered it a Scott Adams thing, but Dilbert and the 90s WWW are somewhat conflated in my mind.

        taogaming

        September 6, 2016 at 4:15 pm

  2. Straightforward puzzle, just 3 moves, one line only.

    The black king is in a black square by no chance, that must make the bell ring…

    Pedro

    September 5, 2016 at 6:20 am

    • Black in fact has two possible replies, both of which white can counter (of course) …

      taogaming

      September 5, 2016 at 5:28 pm

  3. It’s been well more than ‘a few’ days. Post the damn answer!

    Lou Wainwright

    September 9, 2016 at 11:49 pm

  4. […] So … that puzzle. […]

    The Tao of Gaming

    September 11, 2016 at 3:26 pm


Comments are closed.

