The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

The other media

I heard good things about Stellaris and its a long weekend, so I downloaded Steam (and discovered that the obvious username was taken, as well as several variants) and looked into it. Then I remembered that while my computer seems insanely powerful, that’s because I use it for running Nethack and every computer seems powerful running that. So I downloaded a quick system test to see if I could run Stellaris and it said “No. You have a self-important web browser, not a computer. Why would you believe it could run a modern game?”

But I kind of want to play something computery, and not Nethack. I have an XBox, but just a 360.

On the Media front, I watched the first season of Hannibal. Its a sign of how far things have come that this TV show looks so much better than Silence of the Lambs (and Mads Mikkelsen’s Hannibal is a slow burn, not a scenery chewer). I’ll finish S2 soon (and wait for S3 to be free…yes, I know it was cancelled. Too bad). Archer is almost finished with its shortened season. Good, but the episodes are also pretty short (one was under 20 minutes!).

Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt Season 2 flew by much faster. It took me several tries to get into season 1, but I did and rather enjoyed the new one. I did not like Lady Dynamite, or Master of None.  The Netflix comedies are more miss than hit, although I’m waiting for BoJack to come back.

(Daredevil Season 2 had potential and then squandered it into a terrible Morass after some very good mid-season episodes).

Written by taogaming

May 26, 2016 at 9:56 pm

Posted in TV & Media

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Funny, I thought the middle Episodes of Season 2 Daredevil were tedious (“Hells Kitchen Legal” as I call it), the rest I liked better than the first episode – but that might just be because Im not a fan of kingpin.

    If you dont mind playing with keyboard I recommend Limbo. Its a nice dexterity/puzzle/story element game with good athmosphere. Plus its short and not too expensive. It doesnt need great graphics. I really enjoyed it 🙂

    peer sylvester

    May 27, 2016 at 8:41 am

    • I love Limbo, got it during a summer XBox sale years ago….

      taogaming

      May 27, 2016 at 6:21 pm

  2. I’ve been playing Istrolid lately. It bills itself as a Multiplayer Fleet Design Strategy Game. I haven’t tried out the multiplayer yet, but I can verify the rest. It has a campaign mode that isn’t very good except for learning the basics. Campaign mode requires you to move each ship, which limits the build options (small, fast ships are too difficult to effectively control). It shines with the challenges. In challenges and multiplayer there is a simple if/else set of commands for your ships that allow you to worry about design and control rather than moving ships about in real time.

    It’s available on Steam and it’s free. Unless your computer is over 10 years old system requirements should be low enough:

    OS: Windows 7
    Processor: 32-64bit
    Memory: 1 GB RAM

    Mark Delano

    May 27, 2016 at 10:29 am


Comments are closed.

