The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Mage Knight

The TaoLing asked to play a bit of Mage Knight recently, so that’s good. Right now we’re just playing straight Full Co-op (conquer three cities). For the last few games I’ve even been playing with the basic levels (instead of making the cities 8/8/11 we’re just playing 5/5/11).

Still fun.

I’m not sold on Shades of Tezla. I haven’t mixed in the new monsters (the backs are different, but I could b/c I normally just roll a die and count down from the top of the stack each time I need one anyway, because my counters are scuffed). But I haven’t yet really gotten the rules for the new monsters down. One issue is that the variability might be too high, especially for the brown tokens (which are often a blind fight).

The new scenarios aren’t great.

I do like the new character (Braevlar). For me, that’s justification enough, but I should throw the new monsters in for a few games to try them out.

Written by taogaming

May 8, 2016 at 8:59 pm

Posted in Mage Knight

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m curious to hear more of your thoughts on Tezla. I’m a fairly casual MK player and I enjoyed most of it. One scenario (The Hidden Valley) doesn’t seem to work right (penalizes exploring, then grants easy super-explores, little tension), but the others were all challenging and fun. The new browns do seem a little wild, but I think I prefer that to having them be too predictable.

    Did you get the component fix pack from Wizkids? Definite improvements.

    Jon Waddington

    May 9, 2016 at 9:04 am

  2. […] asked my thoughts on Tezla, […]


Comments are closed.

