The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

April Links

Apparently someone has made headway deciphering the Voynich manuscript!

No link, but let me just rant that the Southwest Airlines App is terrible. I will make the assumption that the developers are having to work with the crappy airline system that’s older than I am, but still. These are baby mistakes. An example. I try to check in. “Which flight?” Uh, how about the only flight I have that occurs within the next 24 hours? Or maybe the only flight I have, since it’s a return trip? Or even just list me flights and let me pick? No, the app wants me to pick from every flight southwest has. To Check In. But no, I enter my flight number. That isn’t good enough. “Error — Please specify the cities.” Are you shitting me? Southwest knows who I am and which flight I want to check in, and you can’t figure out which cities are involved? You can’t even offer me the “Well, that flight goes from A to B to C, so is this A->B, A->C or B->C, so please pick” but I have to scroll through every destination. Southwest is no longer a scrappy underdog from my youth. Now they are just amateurs.

The list of games that Buddha would not play [H/T Slatestarcodex]

Design a game based on Caro’s bio of Robert Moses and win cash prizes!

Many years ago I had the thought that Cultural Evolution was Lamarkian, which pleased me (more for the ability to pack a lot of information into four words, I doubt the idea is original). But how important are societal norms? The consensus appears to be growing that the answer is: very.

I was reading the latest news from GMT and wondered, why isn’t 1846 on the schedule? Probably very different to print than their normal games, I imagine.

A TED talk a bit too close to home — inside the mind of a master procrastinator.

It was pointed out to me that the problem with BGG Rankings is yet another example of Goodhart’s Law (“When a measure becomes a target, it ceases to be a good measure”) although there are other problems with BGG.

I’ve been following the replicability issue in psychology (a little), but in case you haven’t: Everything you think you know may be wrong.

Written by taogaming

April 19, 2016 at 4:52 pm

Posted in Linky Love

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That Voynich link is from 2014 and there has been no announcement since then. Probably not a real solution.

    I want to see the BGG page for “Imitating Deformities”.

    Frederic Bush

    April 19, 2016 at 5:46 pm

  2. 1846 is on the schedule, for July. You must have just missed it.

    Eric Brosius

    April 19, 2016 at 6:48 pm

  3. Too bad you misspelled Lamarckian.

    Anonymous

    April 20, 2016 at 9:11 am


Comments are closed.

