The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Patchwork

A clever little Nim like game. There’s a loop of patches, and you can spend buttons and time to buy any of the next three available patches (which moves the marker to the new empty slot), and you place the patch onto your grid. As you advance in time you get income (buttons on your quilt).

The player who has used less time goes next. First person to finish a 7×7 grid (out of 9×9) gets 7 bonus points, and when both players have run out of time you add buttons, subtract for unfinished portions of the quilt cost 2 points per.

Simple, elegant. Yes, also dry, but it’s a fast 2 player filler. Could burn your brain, if you want.

Rating — Indifferent, but a good sort. As an abstract I’ll never love it, but it’s fast and clever.

Written by taogaming

February 8, 2016 at 10:00 pm

Posted in Reviews

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t care for abstracts and my spatial reasoning-fu is weak, so I was quite surprised by how much I liked Patchwork. I suspect it’s the financial element the buttons add that does it for me. Hopefully, it’s available for sale now.

    huzonfirst

    February 10, 2016 at 10:18 pm

  2. I’ve only played Patchwork once, but I enjoyed it more than I would think I would have enjoyed a game like it. I can’t analyze exactly what works so well for me.

    Eric Brosius

    February 11, 2016 at 9:43 am


Comments are closed.

