The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Happy New Media

Or, your semi-quarterly-ish update on my media consumption.

I binged Better Call Saul this week. I had high expectations. They were surpassed. What can I say, I’m Vince Gilligan’s huckleberry. I may even pony up the cash to watch S2 now (especially since Archer is delayed a few months).

I was looking for a new show and I’m slowly getting into Parks and Recreation. It’ll do, it’s growing on me. After burning through seven+ seasons of Supernatural and then stopping, I’ve started watching again (slower, but I’ve finished S8).

Last night I watched the cult non-classic Tokyo Tribe. Imagine a Warriors Musical but with Hip-Hop/Rap for most of the lyrics. Bad Kung Fu featuring a cannibalistic fat Elvis, a dwarf butler, a blond body-builder in a banana-hammock, a growly beat-boxer schoolgirl, phones shaped like bedazzled pistols, a baseball-bat-wielding goon sporting a disco-ball coated samurai helmet, a scrappy kid straight out of the Feng Shui rulebook and an ending featuring a Jackie-Chan style ending where all the misguided youths join forces to defeat the truly evil. And all in Japanese, so go back and tack on that adjective to everything (“Japanese fat Elvis”, “Japanese blond body builder…”).

And rapping (in Japanese). I actually liked most of the lyrics, which sport a fair chunk of Japanglish.

Enjoyable but terrible, made interestingly terrible because the director considers himself an auter (I judge), sort of a Japanese Tarantino. He’s trying to do interesting things in a pulpy setting and not always failing. Lots of nudity, bad kung-fu, but also several long (and obvious) no-edit pieces, a gonzo attitude, a few laughs — some at, some with — and insanity. By the same guy as Why Don’t you Play in Hell? and that can be your determination if you should check this out. (On Netflix).

Based on an earlier thread, I read Aurora. Interesting. I quickly clued in that there was some weird linguistic styling and deduced why, but that didn’t make it less annoying. Still, finished it.

Still haven’t watched Spectre or Star Wars. I may go watch Hail Caesar tomorrow (I’ve seen all the Coen movies except The Lady Killers, and that’s in my queue now).

I watched F is for Family, and I am willing to admit it. It was not great, but it was not bad, and only 3 hours.

The Very Murray Christmas was exactly what it was.

Comedy — Anthony Jeselnik’s special (Thoughts and Prayers) is amazing, in the sense that after five minutes you know his schtick (Andrew Dice Clay but rude and horrible) and you know the rough shape of each joke before it hits, yet its still damn funny. John Mulaney works much cleaner, also funny. Eugene Mirman’s special (Vegan on his way to the Complain Store) is just him telling stories, truly weird.

Documentaries — I watched the Journey doc about the new frontman for Journey (Don’t Stop Believin’: Everyman’s Journey) and a documentary on Rush (Beyond the Lighted Stage). Liked both. Also Magic Camp about a summer camp for teenage magicians. That was interesting in many ways, both as a statement on young obsession, technical skills, and some get-off-my-lawn observations about gender.

As always, the queue is weak and suggestions are welcome.

Written by taogaming

February 6, 2016 at 5:33 pm

Posted in TV & Media

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m working my way through the Expanse books. Consistently entertaining. I feel like we’ve discussed Iain Banks before, but if you haven’t read all his Culture books, I recommend those even more highly.

    Frederic Bush

    February 6, 2016 at 8:38 pm

    • I don’t know if I’ve read all of the culture books, but I’ve read a chunk of them and at least some of them twice.

      taogaming

      February 6, 2016 at 9:55 pm

  2. Have you gotten into the South Korean action movies? I was keyed into them by Feng Shui 2 and Robin Laws. A lot of them are on Netflix. I loved A Company Man and The Heist, and Assassination has gotten some raves – it’s next up in my queue.

    Chris Farrell

    February 6, 2016 at 9:36 pm

    • I’ve watched some. Assassination has popped up in my list. I’ve seen more of the SK detective movies (what was that vampire/detective one a few years back?). Master of Go was SK, too, I believe. Good advice, though, they’ve started to have a fair share of watchable movies.

      taogaming

      February 6, 2016 at 9:57 pm

  3. The first season of Wayward Pines (which I’m almost through) has been good.

    B

    February 8, 2016 at 8:28 am

  4. If you like Saul, I think you would like Fargo (both season 1 and 2 are strong)

    WOLFF

    February 9, 2016 at 6:19 pm


Comments are closed.

