The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Fall Media

The last month I binged through the last season of the CW (“The CW: Geek shows, ridiculously attractive people. You know you’ll watch.” At least, I assume that’s there motto). Flash (s1), Arrow (s3) and iZombie (s1). All good fun in this, the golden age of geekery.

I’ll get around to watching Spectre. The bad reviews are helping lower my expectations.

This season of South Park? Great. (It’s been resurgent the last three years or so). I watched the first season of Steven Universe and I’d watch more, but its not free. (Technically S1 wasn’t either, but my kids had bought it already). Ditto Adventure Time (S1+2). Why are animated comedies dominant right now? (At least, to my tastes).

Shows I have tried and not been able to get into:

  • Orphan Black
  • Master of None
  • Bob and Dave show (Odenkirk and Cross). To be fair, I find it funny in 5-10 minute chunks. But so far it’s taken me 3 chunks and I’m not through the first episode.
  • I watched a few episodes of Sons of Anarchy and its OK.
  • I bought a season pass for Doctor Who and … I think we’re all pretty much done with it. I’m probably 6 episodes behind and don’t feel a strong urge to catch up. I guess when I run out of other shows it will happen.

I did watched Rectified earlier, may have mentioned that already.

I watched the first two episodes of Jessica Jones. It’s good, and I assume that I’ll be finished watching it in a week (less if the wife does not want to watch the rest of it). Then I’ll need more recommendations. I’m also watching Psycho-Pass, an anime recommended to me. It’s not bad, definitely got a Blade Runner + Minority Report feel. Right now it’s the show I’ll finish when other shows run out. But that will be soon.

Technically I will be finished creating my media in a few weeks, which was good to do. I’ve had side projects and they typically peter out at a few thousand words. It was a good proof of concept — I can produce a novel-sized work. I think I understand my (fictional) writing flow much better now.

Consider this an open media and BGG.CON thread. For media, I’m mainly interested in the Netflix-able.

Written by taogaming

November 20, 2015 at 11:20 pm

Posted in Open Thread, TV & Media

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Narcos (Netflix original) is really good. Before I started watching I thought I wouldn’t be able to get into it but I was wrong. Excellent execution.

    Charles Feduke

    November 21, 2015 at 9:05 pm


Comments are closed.

