The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

GMT Fall Sale?

I’m allowed two games at 50% off. Triumph and Tragedy has gotten lots of buzz (although there is at least one local copy). But my gut feeling is that the lure of 50% off is a siren song, meant to dash my dreams against the waves. Sure, I could get Virgin Queen, but I’ll never play it. I don’t love Thunder Alley enough to buy it, I haven’t played Combat Commander in years,

I suppose I could take a chance on Halls of Montezuma (CDG set in the Mexican American war) which would be under $20, but I suspect its on sale for a reason.

Hm. Battle Line, maybe. And I didn’t like No Retreat 2, but maybe 4 is ok.

So, any thoughts? Right now I’m hesitant to pull the trigger, but have I overlooked a gem?

Written by taogaming

October 21, 2015 at 9:05 pm

Posted in Open Thread

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If you can ever play it, strongly recommend Virgin Queen despite your reservations. But yes, it is hard to get on the table.

    philipgoldfarb

    October 21, 2015 at 10:52 pm

  2. Rick

    October 22, 2015 at 12:22 am

  3. I do like NR4 a lot, but if you didn’t like NR2, it’s probably not a great percentages play; it’s got a few of the same mechanisms, and it’s a bit more rules-y than I usually like. I also like NR2 quite a bit, but it took a while to grow on me since it is *so* different from NR1.

    I’m a huge fan of of Mark Simonitch’s games, and France ’40 and Normandy ’44 (2nd) are both great and quite playable. Ukraine ’43 is meatier but still great, I usually don’t have much time for ACW games, but I’m looking forward to playing The U.S. Civil War.

    Hellenes is a bit more niche than Triumph and Tragedy, but Craig Besinque always does interesting games and this is no exception. I don’t get to to play it that much though; it seems like the Pelopponesian War isn’t a huge draw for most wargamers.

    I find a problem with GMT’s more niche great games (Hellenes, NR2 & 4, some of the Simonitch stuff) is that it’s just so hard to find people to play. In today’s market there seem to be almost as many different games as players, so everyone has a different game they want to play.

    Chris Farrell

    October 22, 2015 at 12:00 pm

  4. +1 for T&T. After two plays, I still find my mind drifting off to think about what strategy I’ll try next time.

    If you order two games, it’s probably cheaper to just order from CSI.

    Ben

    October 23, 2015 at 11:00 am

  5. I was quite disappointed by Halls of Montezuma. Out of the box, it was an unplayable mess. There have been a few major rule patches issued, but I’d be wary.

    Ben

    October 23, 2015 at 11:04 am


Comments are closed.

