The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Bridgey Stuff

Pop quiz hotshot — You hold 9 almost solid spades (missing the jack), no hearts, and Kx in both minors. Amazingly, the first two seats pass to you, nobody vulnerable.

What do you do? What do you do?

This is more poker than bridge, but it happened. I’ve posted a poll at Bridgewinners.

Fortunately this was back when I was still somewhat into it, before the strain on my eyes gave me a nasty headache. In other news, I feel 20 years older with my new glasses.

Written by taogaming

September 29, 2015 at 8:00 pm

Posted in Bridge

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’d try 4NT, specific ace Blackwood. Yeah, the 5-level isn’t necessarily safe, but it will probably tell me what I need to know and it’s massively preemptive. The one failure is that if partner bids 6C (two including the CA), I won’t know which red ace he has and cannot bid a cold grand. On the upside, it’s unlikely that LHO will be able to interfere at the 5-level.

    JeffG

    September 30, 2015 at 11:46 am

    • The thread on Bridgewinners is kind of all over the place, but I was gratified that you (and one of my former partners) went with 4N. My theory was that 4N was that 4N was somewhat preemptive (more than 4S) and opening 1C was risking having the auction come back to me at 5H. Yes, I’d bid 5S then but partner would be inclined to play me for a much stronger hand.

      As it turns out, partner had a minor ace, but no minor queen, so slam was a touch over 50% (partner had ATxx of clubs, so even if the DA was off, QJ tight would have also helped).

      The other hand opened NAMYATS, which I just don’t understand. Partner is never making a move with an ace + a queen over that.

      taogaming

      October 3, 2015 at 12:41 pm

      • I have had the opportunity to use specific-ace Blackwood three times in my life. All three times it won the board, not because finding a key ace was useful, but because it is so massively preemptive. When you have a freak, it’s not uncommon that someone else does, too.

        JeffG

        October 6, 2015 at 11:49 am


Comments are closed.

