The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

FFG + L5R = OMG or WTF?

So, Fantasy Flight bought Legend of the Five Rings and announced that they’d turn it into an LCG (presumably among other things) at Gencon in 2017.

The part of me that is slightly over half my current age feel like honor has been restored, that an evil in the world has been lifted, and that destiny fulfilled. I tried to get back into L5R a few years ago, but it didn’t take. The part of me that is my current age remembers that I’m several packs behind in Netrunner, and that I fell behind earlier caught up (at the cost of, oh, $50) and played only a handful of games. Still Netrunner is going strong (there was a tournament on Monday with over a dozen people) and the expense is negligible compared to Bridge (for example).

So, in this case I’m going to pretend I’m 3/4 my current age and settle for cautious optimism. If nothing else when I pull my old T-shirts out of the drawer people will know what they mean.

I just need them to buy Shadowfist to complete the Trifecta.

Written by taogaming

September 12, 2015 at 8:13 am

Posted in Ramblings

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The part of me that is my current age remembers that I’m several packs behind in Netrunner, and that I fell behind earlier caught up (at the cost of, oh, $50) and played only a handful of games.

    That happened to me a little while ago. I caught up with the Lunar cycle in a mad rush, and then realized, “Hey, everyone in town has basically stopped playing. When am I ever going to use these cards?” It was kind of a sad realization.

    Tyler

    September 12, 2015 at 11:45 am

  2. “Still Netrunner is going strong (there was a tournament on Monday with over a dozen people) and the expense is negligible compared to Bridge (for example).”

    Huh? Bridge costs a couple of bucks for a deck of cards and you’re set. What am I missing?

    Andrew Dabrowski

    September 12, 2015 at 6:05 pm

  3. Yes, I followed that announcement with interest as well. I didn’t try to get into L5R again, because I just couldn’t work up enthusiasm for a CCG anymore, but it looked like they did interesting things with the mechanics.

    So I take it that you are not happy with the current Shadowfist releases, then?
    I stopped buying around the time of the kickstarters. There are still people playing around here, but I just can’t work up the motivation anymore. The games take too long, and despite attempts at simplification, the rules are still too complex.
    I’d gladly give up the use of my entire collection for a set of rules that more than one person fully understands, and some general review of mechanics and card pool couldn’t hurt, either.

    Michael S

    September 14, 2015 at 3:25 pm


Comments are closed.

