The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Summer Media

When the kids are at camp, I can finally get around to watching Game of Thrones.

You know, it’s a much better TV show than book, but I’m watching by inertia. It has some “Holy shit!” moments, and the best opening credits on TV, but the brutal take down by South Park still applies. Does anyone not think it’s Dragons versus Zombies at the end? I will also, again, point out that my decision to stop reading the books after the first one came out (“Because it’s a god-damn trilogy, and probably will turn out to be even longer and take forever”) stands as one of the best predictions I’ve ever made and kind of applies to the TV show. But with a TV show stretching things out for another season is kind of expected. So, what I’m saying is GoT is watchable (and bingeable), but once you’ve seen it you are done. (Even with the good acting).

Whereas I had no problem re-watching BoJack or Rick and Morty.  (Why is it all of the comedy I really like these days is animated?)  I did watch a few episodes of Your Pretty Face is Going to Hell, and it was ok but not great. I wish netflix would get more Adventure Time on streaming. (Yes, I could watch on Adult Swim, but they have a painful # of commercials, in my experience).

So I’m looking for Fall viewing. I’ll probably watch Doctor Who (although I’m sick and tired of Clara and Moffat).

I watched a few episodes of Mad Men. I may pick that up. I’m not hooked, but it’s not bad.

In the meantime, I’ll just play more Mage Knight.

Written by taogaming

August 9, 2015 at 8:02 pm

Posted in TV & Media

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think Mad Men was some of the best written television I’ve experienced. (My tastes normally come in around Justified – perhaps the best dialogue on television – and Deadwood so for a show about advertising in the 60s to get my attention it has to be really great.)

    cfeduke

    August 10, 2015 at 9:44 am

  2. I agree on GoT. Tried reading the first book many years ago. I think I got half way through before the writing style drove me up a wall. I’ve been enjoying the TV show, and I could see watching it again in 10 years or so but probably not sooner than that.

    Mark Delano

    August 11, 2015 at 7:30 am

    • The fantasy genre (in general) needs to understand that a book must be enjoyable as a book. Not as part of a decade long reading slog. Right now the only fantasy series I’m at all trying to keep up with (and failing) is the Vlad Taltos series, and most of those work as a quick 1-2 day pulp read that happen to be connected. If you read them all, yeah, you get more out of it. But not required. And fun.

      Even GoT the TV show reflects the slow nature of the books. (See, c.f., the brutal south park take down of George R.R. Martin, being pestered by butters: “When is that pizza going to get here?” “Oh, what type of pizza do you want? I’ll order it and it will be amazing!” “It’s been 3 hours and you haven’t even ordered the pizza!?”)

      taogaming

      August 11, 2015 at 1:22 pm


Comments are closed.

