The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Of course & Churchill Initial Thoughts

Literally the same week I swear off using the P500 would be the same week that they add 1846. Looks like I picked a bad week to stop sniffing glue.

Why did I swear off the P500? Churchill.

I ordered it years ago, then I didn’t get charged, so I spent a while figuring out why and fixing it, then I still wasn’t sure if they’d shipped it or charged me, then I finally played it Monday and hastily cancelled my order (if it hadn’t shipped) but it turns out it had and now I have a copy. I’m not upset by this, it’s not terrible, but I wouldn’t be upset to not own it. I figured if nothing else it might make a decent solitaire game.

Earlier today I was the lowest rater on BGG. (I gave it a six). Perhaps it will grow on me (I’m already scheduled to play again next week).

So  I setup a solitaire game tonight. Needs better bots and I having to fiddle with all the parts and run the flowchart left me bored after a turn and I put it away. (In contrast, I played ~5 games of Labyrinth solitaire).

As someone who has read most of the Churchill 3 Volume Bio and studied the man in some detail, I find several flaws with the history of the game (which Chris Farrell also pointed out). And I do not understand the comparison with CDGs, I’d hoped it would be much more like them than it is. But I’m playing with one of the playtesters/thanked parties, so I’m hoping to spot something I’ve missed. As I don’t want to bias myself, I’m witholding a full review.

Rating — Indifferent, but we’ll see.

Written by taogaming

August 6, 2015 at 7:59 pm

Posted in Session Reports

Tagged with

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Either this is one of the greatest games ever designed or it’s yet another example of ratings creep. I can’t say certainly without playing the game, but I’m pretty sure I know which way I’d vote.

    huzonfirst

    August 6, 2015 at 8:50 pm

    • Wow, browsing through the BGG Top 100 (which I haven’t done in a while) really shows what you mean. Robinson Crusoe from 2012 is in the Top 20? I haven’t yet resorted to voting against games that are too high rated, but maybe I should.

      taogaming

      August 6, 2015 at 9:55 pm

      • The BGG top games have been a total joke for years. The only thing I can think is that they’re in a tough spot because fixing the rating system would outrage too many people? But clearly the algorithm they use hasn’t been working for quite some time.

        Chris Farrell

        August 7, 2015 at 1:13 am

  2. I don’t know whether I’m just getting tired of games in general… or, whether it was just this game, but I too was underwhelmed. I’m going to give it a few, maybe five, more plays, and if I’m still less than wild about it, off to the dustbin of history it goes.

    Ben

    August 6, 2015 at 11:50 pm

  3. I enjoyed playing it but I think it’s highly likely that a 6 is about where the game will end up for me when viewed in toto. The pacing isn’t great, the history is often questionable, there is a lot of unproductive randomness, the directed offensives are weird, the VCs are what we’ll generously call “quirky”. But – I respect Churchill for trying to do something interesting and novel, even if it turns out to be not totally successful.

    It is possible that the endgame VCs are breakable though, and if they are, my rating will tank 🙂

    Chris Farrell

    August 7, 2015 at 1:11 am


Comments are closed.

