The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Summer Open Thread

’tis summer break, the kids are at camp, so it’s like a mini-vacation. (And I am, in fact, back from my actual vacation, and drove 2,000+ miles over the last 10 days). So, what’s what?

The AVClub has a nice article on the world building of Sentinels of the Multiverse (which remains one of my most played games of the decade).

Just when I get charged for Churchill, I see another GMT P500 game I think I want to order. (Between those and QuarterMaster General, perhaps I’ll be set for quick-ish grand WWII games).

On the media front, I’m currently binging through the second season of Bojack Horseman. (And now that the kids are at camp, I’ll catch up on GoT. (Current joke making the rounds, “George RR Martin, Joss Whedon and Steven Moffat walk into a bar…“). I’ll probably buy the 2nd season of Rick and Morty when it comes out, and I’m sorely tempted to buy the S1 Bluray to watch again.

I finally got around to playing Splendor. It’s very dry, but I enjoy it.

Bridge — I played in the San Antonio Regional. I did not play well, but still managed to win 13-ish masterpoints, which are inflating at rates not seen since the Weimar Republic. (I’ve gained ~100 points in the last 12 months doing basically nothing of note, and missing about half of the tournaments I normally play). I did just make a nice play on BBO just now after bidding a hopeless 3N that I knew was well against the odds. I bid it b/c I was playing on BBO and expected the defense to toss a trick, which they did. Then I found the cards in the right place and a critical pinning play. As it turns out, I should have unblocked during the pin, but my opponents missed they killing defense at that point, so I made. [The one thing I got from the regional was one partner’s comment … “in a mixed field you need to more aggressively punish the weak”]

Movies: Ex Machina was ok. It Follows was very good. What we do in the shadows (vampire mockumentary) was meh, but I wanted to like it because it had that Flight of the Conchords guy.
And I saw (on 538) an interesting math puzzle from the International Math Olympiad.

Determine all triples (a, b, c) of positive integers such that each of the numbers: ab-c, bc-a, ca-b is a power of two.

Since it’s an Olympiad question, it’s not surprising I can’t solve it. (I was good at these things, but not that good). I do see that a,b,c must all be even or odd (and can’t be two far apart), but I’m missing a key insight or two. But I’m mulling it over.

So, summer open thread — What games are you playing, media are you consuming, and timewasters are you indulging?

Written by taogaming

July 22, 2015 at 9:44 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve found 2,2,2 and the 6 orderings of 3,5,7. I haven’t figured out how to prove if that is all that is possible or if there are additional values.

    Mark Delano

    July 24, 2015 at 10:45 pm

  2. There’s a proposed solution to the math problem here: http://mathforum.org/kb/message.jspa?messageID=9817671

    PMA

    July 27, 2015 at 12:42 pm


Comments are closed.

