The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

More Quartermaster General

I picked up my copy of QG last week. (Sadly, it was missing a card. Apparently other copies had a stray card or two, so I guess it’s the collating machine, but I’m assuming it won’t be a problem to get a replacement). I now have some strategy advice.

For the love of what’s holy, build on turn 1. I have now been murdered several times by dropping that cool status on T1. In the last game, I (as UK) dropped the ‘build in India as if it were the UK’ status on T1. German had, of course, built in Western Europe. And so on T2 the German Navy started Operation Sea Lion and I spent my next few build army cards rebuilding my home, staring forlornly at my useless Build Navy cards, because I lacked a Sea Battle.

And this went over as well with the locals as it did at the Gathering. Most of the players wanted to play again immediately, and four of them were willing to do a 3rd game right away….

I read the expansion rules, and I really like it. Adding in cards that can be played in addition means you have more fluid timing, and hopefully blunts economic warfare (since you can choose to not bolster, to conserve resources).

Written by taogaming

July 6, 2015 at 9:58 pm

Posted in Session Reports

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ignoring Reallocate Resources, you double the chances of losing the United Kingdom if you don’t build a Navy turn 1. This could be accomplished on the American turn using Lend Lease or Arsenal of Democracy.

    Good observation!

    Ian Brody

    July 12, 2015 at 11:14 am


Comments are closed.

