The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Man

Right now is that dangerous moment when I could just decide to let myself go, and admit that while I haven’t done great in life, I’m still 30 pounds lighter than I was fifteen years ago and what’s five more?

But I probably shouldn’t have eaten all that food.

In other news, I’m still fairly burned out of gaming, although I’ve been tinkering around with Dominion: Dark Ages. It does slow the game down, but I think I may pick up Guilds or Adventures anyway. Man I miss Isotropic.

I’m watching (with the boy) Agents of Shield, 2nd season, and I remembered something. After ST:TNG had the Best of Both Worlds cliffhanger, some writer friends of mine hashed out a Bible for the next season, and the points that I remember were:

  • The Enterprise should spend a half season – or more – fighting behind enemy lines.
  • The loss should shake up the team, force promotions/demotions, etc.
  • There should be real risks, probably even kill a major character.
  • It should be a serialized story

And it occurs to me that AoS is doing this (although I’m only halfway done with the season). And whereas all those ideas were ludicrous for 1990, now it’s just enough to keep my interest, but not surprising that a show does this.

Go Manny Machado! He’s on the Orioles and my fantasy team, and have a monster day (2 more HR, bringing him to 11 on the season). My team has finally pulled back up to .500, after a disastrous first month, but I’ve finally got a mostly healthy team.

Written by taogaming

June 16, 2015 at 8:41 pm

Posted in TV & Media

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. In other words, TNG should have been written by Joss Whedon. 🙂

    ekted

    June 17, 2015 at 10:48 am

    • Well, that would obviously have helped.. And TNG did have Tasha Yar die randomly, but she was hardly beloved.

      taogaming

      June 20, 2015 at 11:43 am

  2. I hate serialized stories. My feeling is if Orson Welles only needed 2 hours to give us Citizen Kane, you, Mr. Hack Writer, shouldn’t need 12 hours to tell your lame tale. Needless to say, this is very much a minority opinion.

    huzonfirst

    June 17, 2015 at 10:07 pm

    • I like serialized stories because you havemore time for character development and exploring side streets.
      TZBS: I often find shorter season-series tighter and better than longer ones. With the old 24-episode-season you have a lot of filler-episodes, where the story is just stalling (Im looking at you Lost, 3rd Season!).
      With the shorter ~13 episodes normally every episode counts whichg results in a tighter and therefore more interesting story.

      peer sylvester

      June 20, 2015 at 1:59 am

  3. I think you are comparing apples and oranges. “I just read this brilliant short story, which means your novel that’s 6 times longer can’t be as good.”

    Mark Delano

    June 18, 2015 at 7:21 am

    • No, I’m just a fan of concise storytelling. Not saying long story lines can’t be good. Just saying they’re usually not my thing.

      huzonfirst

      June 18, 2015 at 8:54 pm

      • Well, TV is (mostly) long form. If you are going to watch a 22 hour season, what do you want? (I do like shorter seasons, in general, but you have to accept that TV has a lot of filler, especially in longer seasons. Sometimes, like True Detective, the filler is more interesting than the story).

        taogaming

        June 20, 2015 at 11:42 am

      • Which is different from saying hack writers need 12 hours to tell a story.

        Mark Delano

        June 20, 2015 at 4:53 pm


Comments are closed.

