The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

A semi-actual gaming cafe

The TaoLing is out of school and asked to head out to a gaming cafe (apparently he’d gone there one weekend for a magic tournament while I was playing bridge). Magic Beans actually comes fairly close to a gaming cafe, which was a model that (AFAIK) exists mainly in Korea and not in the US. They have a coffee shop (coffee, pastries, sandwiches, drinks), candies sodas and chips, and open gaming. Spacious, nice. And, according to the owner, adding ice cream and some other goodies later on. If the games available to borrow aren’t quite to my tastes, I’m perfectly willing to admit that they do have a range. Mostly people bring their own games. I’m sure they make 90%+ of their gaming money via Magic cards, but hey, that’s where the money is. Their boardgaming inventory was practically non-existant, and put to shame by your average Barnes and Nobles.

But my son picked up a few singles. Since we were there for several hours that seems like a reasonable deal to me. It was a small crowd, but it was early.

Just because I think it’s an interesting business model doesn’t mean I think it will succeed, but I hope they do. I may see if I can get my board game group interested in playing there, since it’s convenient to me.

Written by taogaming

June 12, 2015 at 9:30 pm

Posted in Misc

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have heard Korea is no longer what it once was, game cafe-wise.

    Jess Sayn

    June 13, 2015 at 2:03 am


Comments are closed.

