The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Yet another reason I feel old

Seeing the AV Club’s article on Vampire LARPs.

It’s been 20 years? Since stories about one’s characters are the lowest form of entertainment, I will merely acknowledge I playtested several versions of this, and played in an large convention based regular game for several years (eventually topping out at, oh, 300?) and some of those characters showed up in Jyhad. I don’t think I’d do that again, but those were fun times.

The setting, while interesting, makes for duller games. Far more interesting to have a setting where there are multiple dimensions of power, and I prefer slightly more plotting.  In fact, a bit of googling revealed that M.A.S.K.S.: Superheroes have it Damned Tough, which I played in the mid/late 90s, was run at RPI last year. That was a blast.

Probably my favorite LARP setting was Nursery Crimes, which predated the Fables comic and various “Children’s storybook characters / fables in the real world” TV shows (which I have not watched). In Nursery Crimes, you played a children’s book character who has grown up 20 years later. Cinderella, Barbar (whose kingdom was under siege from communist elephant Horton), Tinkerbell, Puff the Magic Dragon, a whole gamut. Unfortunately a massive blizzard ended up cancelling the game. It was a much more free-form game, basically every player had one power they were exceptional at. I was scheduled to play The Great Brain (a series I read as a child). He’d grown up and used his skills for personal gain (of course) and had just recently gotten out of a Turkish prison.

I can still remember bits from the flyer for that. I wonder if it ever ran again.

Written by taogaming

May 15, 2015 at 9:50 pm

Posted in Misc

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That sounds interesting. My friend Andy Latto participated in a LARP something like that. He played Marvin, the Paranoid Android, and his special power was that he could force anyone to spend one minute listening to him complain.

    (By the way, it’s Babar the Elephant.)

    Eric Brosius

    May 16, 2015 at 7:42 am


Comments are closed.

