The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Contrary Town

Population — Me

Every day I bother to log on I’ve gleefully watched my “Games Played for last 30 days” count fall. Ignoring bridge (2 sessions) and solo games its now two, both played with my kids. When I took my son to game night, I didn’t play a thing and felt good, that meant my number would go down. I took the time to call people and chat.

Sometimes I get looks when people invite me to play a game and I decline. I won’t lie, sometimes it is personal, but that’s a small percentage of the population and gamer stereotypes exist for a reason. I found the “courage” to duck boring games a decade ago; now I’m ducking games I like.

Hopefully, Hopefully, this is my Lent to enjoy belated Fat Fridays. But I don’t actually like conventions. I discovered this at Austin Game Fest a few years back – a ‘meh’ day I spent ducking games – but I apparently never posted about that day. I sat with friends and didn’t play more than a handful of games over 30 hours and I’d paid money (quite a bit, counting hotels). And its not just gaming conventions, my best WorldCon moments involved watching my kids have fun.

I am looking forward to next week, even if I continue my perverse gaming hate I’ll catch up with old friends, stay up late and oversleep and generally relax. Maybe I can route my schedule back to normal by regressing via collegiate debauchery, at least clock-wise. (Working an odd shift for the Q1 contributed to my mood). Games, right now, are just a bonus.

Perchance I’ll have something interesting to say then, too.

So consider this a pre-apology and confession, if I duck out on a game.

Written by taogaming

April 9, 2015 at 9:37 pm

Posted in Convention Reports

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ll be happy to not play some games with you, Brian.

    Eric Brosius

    April 10, 2015 at 8:12 am


Comments are closed.

