The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

My other obsession, continued

Today Chapter 113 of Harry Potter and the Method’s of Rationality had a cliffhanger, then an Author’s note.

This is your final exam.

You have 60 hours.

Your solution must at least allow Harry to evade immediate death…

Well, the exact constraints are somewhat spoilery, but it’s a pretty hopeless situation. Worse yet.

If a viable solution is posted before
*12:01AM Pacific Time* (8:01AM UTC) on Tuesday, March 3rd, 2015,
the story will continue to Ch. 121.

Otherwise you will get a shorter and sadder ending….

Like any author, I enjoy the delicious taste of my readers’ suffering….

So, I thought about it for several hours, iterated a few times and I’ve posted my solution as a short story. (Not to the official site, this is a Beta test). If you are caught up on the story please read and comment. (If you haven’t, but don’t care, you should read the Author’s notes for the full constraints. Of course, if you haven’t read the full story, some of the details won’t make sense, and my favorite line will definitely not make sense).

 

Written by taogaming

February 28, 2015 at 10:13 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like my solution from a literary POV, but I do think it’s not the intended one and has a few holes (now that I’ve slept on it). I think they may be insurmountable. But intend to try to bullet proof those holes instead of going with the intended solution (which others are posting). if the Internet is right on this (and I think it is, over 50% probability,feels like 90%) this makes HPMOR one of the most amazing experiments i’ve ever witnessed or heard about.

    taogaming

    March 1, 2015 at 10:29 am


Comments are closed.

