The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

I’m surprised I haven’t seen this before

The new X-Com apparently requires a downloaded app.

This was on my mind because it seems to me that Space Empires could really use an app for book-keeping to avoid would avoid honest mistakes, such as accounting or remembering which ship counters have which technologies. (And cheating, of course).

Anyway, an app is by itself neither good or bad, but I can see it being a boon for some games (and a tedious draw for others). I’m old enough [1] that it’s not a draw, as I prefer to know the underlying systems of the game, but I do think that more apps that streamline said systems would be nice. I personally use the Mage Knight Dummy player app, as it saves me a few minutes of time each game.  But I happen to like my games without technology, mostly. Still, I expect that there will be at least one brilliant game in the next few years that integrates board and app.

[1] Four and half decades today.

[2] And I do remember hearing about that Knizia Excalibur board game that had electronics integrated into the board, but I never recall seeing it. I wonder if it was actually published or just vaporware. This must have been a decade ago.

Written by taogaming

January 24, 2015 at 11:56 am

Posted in Ramblings

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Happy Birthday. I saw the Knizia game… (King Arthur?) at Essen. It had voices and sound effects for various things happening on the board. It seemed cool, but was German-only. I later read some fairly negative reviews on BGG, so my motivation to master the German language evaporated.

    Ben

    January 24, 2015 at 5:25 pm

  2. I played one game of Space Empires, really enjoyed, and then started drafting the requirements necessary for an iOS app to handle bookkeeping. Unfortunately it hasn’t gotten past that point, but perhaps someday when my children get a bit older and I can spend more time board gaming and hobby programming.

    Charles Feduke

    January 24, 2015 at 5:35 pm

  3. There were three games from Ravensburger with built in electronics; King Arthur and Die Insel from Knizia and a kids game (which name eludes me). Die Insel was supposingly also for adults, while King Arthur was a family game. The electronics basiccly worked as an event deck with a memory. They wree quite expensive to produce and where not so succeful, so they have been shot down pretty quickly (at least the first two).
    King Arthur now made a comeback, as a (analog) boardgame, that requires an app.


Comments are closed.

