The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Machi Koro Harbor Expansion

The Harbor Expansion adds a few new developments. Now you have to finish six; the (free) seventh gives you a coin whenever you are broke right before your turn to buy. And you take up the buildings and deal out some until you have 10 stacks, whenever you deplete a stack you deal out more until you have ten.

Thoughts after one play:

  1. It is a touch longer, but setup and teardown is much easier, so that’s fine.
  2. I think I’m going to play with a variant where you must start with at least N buildings that activate on a 1-6 and produce (not just steal) wealth. Our game had a slow start and almost had the third player not only go last, but have no incoming producing building available.
  3. The Harbor is interesting (if you roll 10+, you may add two to the roll on your turn only). There are some buildings that are 11-13, 12-14, etc.
  4. The promo gaming mega store is now officially a menace that I’m leaving out of my set.

I played 10 games of Machi Koro, I suspect this will get me to 15 more.

Written by taogaming

January 20, 2015 at 5:59 pm

Posted in Reviews

Tagged with

