The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

My Stage II reprint yearly appeal

I played Stage II again. It did not go over well, because the cards are even more brutal with the passing of a few more years.  (In fact, of the 15 themes we tried, exactly 3 people solved any of them, and one person solved exactly one). Since I love the game, but am too lazy to go about republishing it, some thoughts.

Have you considered that this would make a hell of an app? A single version could show the questions and answers (pass the phone around) and keep score, or if each player had the app you could buzz in? You could also download more themes, and have specialized games. (You couldn’t use the name, but the rules aren’t patentable).

I’m tempted to start making up more cards. This won’t help me (I can hardly play with my own cards) but if everyone starts making their own cards to read … well…). I suppose if I got a big enough group I could kickstart a printing of them and people could play.

Written by taogaming

January 12, 2015 at 9:41 pm

Posted in Misc

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am not sure how you’d replicate the “magic viewer” effect, or even if you’d want to. Instead, you could print each set of 6 Qs on its own trivial-pursuit-sized card so that each reader only sees one set of questions.

    Fred Bush

    January 13, 2015 at 2:31 pm

  2. Played with my parents. They crushed us. They got answers where I didn’t understand the questions. And they got themes after a couple answers that I couldn’t have gotten after reading all them. Definitely a game I’d love to see updated.

    Lou W

    January 17, 2015 at 8:56 pm


Comments are closed.

