The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Happy New Thread

The first open thread of 2015 ….

This blog has existed since Jan of 2005, according to wordpress (It was on a different site for a while). The original Tao of Gaming (non-blog) site was probably started 5-10 years before that. My tastes have changed mightily, although I have managed to become more sauve and debonair in real life, I’m still the same low-tech blogger online (although I no longer roll my own HTML….)

So, questions — What do people think of

Media — I’ve been watching Cheers (up to Season 5), Black Mirror (very good). Doctor Who disappointed me with the fact that Clara is never leaving the show, but I’m resigned to it. I’m petering out on Supernatural at Season 8, but I actually watched a few episodes over the holidays. Most of my DVD queue is waiting for the recent batch of movies to be made available. I could use a new TV show or two. I did like True Detective.

Happy-ish New Year. It’s too cold for anything more definitive. (You know its cold when your Canadian friends send a note pointing out it is colder in South Texas than Canada).

Written by taogaming

January 2, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Posted in Open Thread

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Happy New Year, Brian, and Happy Anniversary too! Hard to believe the reboot is 10 years old. I probably began following you in ’98 or ’99. Man, you’re old!

    I’m having a little trouble working up too much sympathy for your “freezing” weather. You mean your temperatures might even dip into the 30’s? Welcome to the rest of the U.S.! 🙂

    Finally, I’m sure you won’t be surprised that I haven’t heard of any of those three games.

    Here’s to 10 more years of Taoing!

    huzonfirst

    January 3, 2015 at 5:41 pm

  2. I found Space Empires 4x (the board game) remarkably similar to completing my income tax return, without the happy refund at the end. So… Worse.

    Ben

    January 4, 2015 at 4:34 pm

  3. I found Space Empires 4X really direly bad. People seem to like it for some reason – it’s been through a reprint and has an expansion with another in the works – but I really have no idea why.

    Chris Farrell

    January 6, 2015 at 12:27 pm

  4. I haven’t regularly watched a TV show since Law & Order went off the air, but I’ve been surprised to find myself really enjoying Elementary, Arrow, and The Flash. Star Wars Rebels is also kind of fun in an escapist kind of a way (as was The Clone Wars).

    Chris Farrell

    January 6, 2015 at 12:31 pm

    • I’ve like Arrow (S1 and S2) and elementary (S1), [Having cut the cord I have to wait].

      taogaming

      January 6, 2015 at 5:44 pm

      • I watch little enough TV that I just subscribe to my favorite shows through iTunes. I dropped Netflix streaming when I ran out of Arrested Development and House of Cards episodes and it appeared they didn’t actually have anything else.

        Chris Farrell

        January 6, 2015 at 8:47 pm

      • You don’t have a digital antenna?

        frunk

        January 7, 2015 at 9:41 am

    • I do have an antenna, but now I’m a snob and don’t want to watch commercials. So I just wait for streaming/DVD

      taogaming

      January 7, 2015 at 6:01 pm

      • Ahh, the Tivoless.

        frunk

        January 7, 2015 at 7:49 pm

  5. Wow, 10 years! I remember when I found this blog ~9 years ago or so!

    You really MUST check out Tragedy Looper, given that you enjoy deduction/hidden role games such as Coup. Tragedy Looper came out in Japanese in 2011 but just released in English in 2014. I only just discovered it this week, but I now think it was the best game released in 2014. I am completely in awe of this game right now.

    Here is a review:
    http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1233701/tragedy-looper-review-or-people-assume-games-are-s

    Alexfrog

    January 7, 2015 at 5:19 pm

    • I noticed that review (which is great). I’ll try a copy soon enough, but with my new work schedule that may be 4 months….

      taogaming

      January 7, 2015 at 6:03 pm

      • After you play it, you will loop back in time and tell yourself that you absolutely MUST be playing it NOW instead!

        Alexfrog

        January 7, 2015 at 7:24 pm

      • It’s not my type of game, but I think it does the deduction/many against one better than any other game I’ve seen.

        frunk

        January 8, 2015 at 11:06 am


Comments are closed.

