The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Random Notes

  1. I’ve now played Glory to Rome 75 times.
  2. I’ve now played Mage Knight so many times that I had to break down and buy card sleeves. The wear didn’t bother me, but the cards are grimy and sticking. The $$ doesn’t bother me; but, sleeved cards are harder to shuffle and take more storage space. My game (with both expansions) barely fits in the main box. I still may pick up a spare copy, just in case.
  3. Machi Koro does work well flipping the cost of the grocery store and amusement park.
  4. I’ve now played Asante a few times. And I finally opened my Jambo Expansion #1. The huts really make the game much more forgiving.
  5. And a new game….

I’d never heard of Concordia (shows you how much I’m browsing the geek these days). It’s new, but it’s not that new, and in the Top 100. My initial impression is that this has much more staying power than Imperial or Antike (both of which I quit fairly quickly).  The randomness of the setup (and order of the deck) should keep the game feeling different, and ditching the Rondel for cards keeps the end game from degenerating into A–>B–>A–>B plays. Now, I’m not sure this is great; but it seems solidly good.

Rating — Suggest (at least for Novelty)

Written by taogaming

December 8, 2014 at 11:28 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. After a couple of plays of Concordia, the feeling is that there’s only one path to success– buy more cards. That’s it. More is better. Always buy cards, never produce in a region that you share. Wanted to like it, but it’s no Antike.

    Peter Sarrett

    December 8, 2014 at 11:39 pm

    • My fear was the reverse — build houses would dominate. I actually got most few cards, but I spent my time building in other people’s regions to discourage them, which cost me, and I didn’t wind up building as many houses as I’d liked. And, of course, the person who built out houses got +7 VP (A big number). Often each house built will be +3-4 VP, + any region bonus, + a bonus if it’s a new type, so each house is probably ~5 points (plus production, early on).

      But I did mess up a few points in the game, so most cards may still be good. But unless houses/cards are balanced this is the problem.

      taogaming

      December 9, 2014 at 6:18 pm

      • I’m not nearly as strategically savvy as either of you, but my feeling after several plays is the same as Peter’s. The point of the game SEEMS to be to focus on buying cards that fit your strategy, but it ends so quickly (and you can have so little control over which cards you CAN afford) that in all of my games, the player with the most cards won. And it seems as a practical matter that more cards is always better than fewer, regardless of which ones they are. If that indeed turns out to be the case, the game is obviously a lot less interesting.

        For me, Gerdts’ masterpiece continues to be Navegador. It’s more about player dynamics than the initial setup, so I find that games invariably play out differently. And while A-B-A-B endgames are conceivable, the mechanics make it very unlikely. It’s one of my favorite 5-player games and also plays well with fewer.

        huzonfirst

        December 9, 2014 at 9:58 pm

    • I agree, up to a point. Everyone needs to buy two cards each time through their decks. Except at the very end, I don’t think it’s a good idea to use the Tribune extra times in order to get the Senator back unless a very key (>= 10 points) card is available. A possible exception is to skip the Senator card your first time through; I don’t know. One issue is that if everyone uses this approach, the Consul becomes quite valuable. Beyond that, it’s nice to optimize card/layout interaction, but one more card is usually worth more than one more on-board item, and at roughly the same cost, cards are clearly better.

      JeffG

      December 10, 2014 at 4:04 pm

    • If you don’t keep up in cards you’ll lose, but I’ve usually seen people that buy better targeted cards beat the player that bought a couple extra.

      frunk

      December 11, 2014 at 3:15 pm

  2. I think mentioned Concordia in last year’s year end discussion, but it could have been at any point in the past year.

    frunk

    December 9, 2014 at 4:30 pm


Comments are closed.

