The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Turkey Day Talk Away

I updated my “Top 20 outside 200” geeklist, by creating the T20O200 2014 edition.

I assume you’ve seen Too Many Cooks. Enthrall your family today! (Or not).

I saw the Roll Through the Galaxy first impressions, and I’m in the “My enthusiasm is gone” crowd. I tried to read the rules for this several times, but never could get through them. Still playing Race, and I’m sure I’ll play it, perhaps to become wildly enthusiastic. But I just can’t get started with this.

Stay Hungry, My Friends.

Written by taogaming

November 27, 2014 at 12:08 pm

Posted in Ramblings

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just for an opposing view, FWIW I’ve played Roll Through the Galaxy 4 or 5 times and I’ve enjoyed each of those games more than every game of Race that I’ve ever played.

    huzonfirst

    November 28, 2014 at 12:20 am

    • I’ve heard a local say that “Roll is Race for people who hate Race.”

      Thoughts?

      taogaming

      November 28, 2014 at 11:07 pm

      • My only thought is that I don’t “hate” Race at all; I just feel like I’m only playing 20% of the game when I do play it. Roll just works for me much better.

        huzonfirst

        November 29, 2014 at 12:22 am

  2. BTW, the top 200 of the Geek has become so dominated by games from the past few years that a Top 20 outside the Top 200 is no longer all that relevant. Listing games outside of the Top 500 seems more useful.

    huzonfirst

    November 28, 2014 at 12:23 am

    • True. Many of the Top Games are things that appear on TableTop, etc. Just the nature of the beast, it’s a growing hobby (which reminds me that The Atlantic had an article about Game Cafes in NYC) and naturally the intro games are going to be highly rated.

      taogaming

      November 28, 2014 at 11:09 pm

  3. Joe Huber and I discussed doing our top games outside the BGG Top 3000 *and* at least 5 years old for a future podcast episode. We’d both have more games than will fit into a Top 10 list.

    Eric Brosius

    November 28, 2014 at 11:07 am

  4. I’ve played Roll at the Gathering and I really like it. I’m glad its not Race, not because I don’t like Race but I’d want a different version of the game to be different. The pacing, types of decisions, increased asynchronicity (apart from explore) all work in its favor to make it similar while taking the experience to places Race couldn’t go. When I was playing with someone at the Gathering I had to tell him a few times “this isn’t Race” to get him out of the ingrained mindset of hundreds of games of Race.

    Race’s rule book, although perfectly functional, also doesn’t do a good job of conveying the fun of the game.

    frunk

    December 1, 2014 at 10:11 am


Comments are closed.

