The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

The horror of lucking into the Straight Flush

Just had my opponent call luck when the board shows 5-9 red, I’d called bravery playfulness, gotten called, shown both and then playfulnessed into the flush (via 6-7). The dealer calls luck and draws the 8 red, giving me the straight flush. Now I have to call the straight flush, because if I just claim the floosh or flush I’m lying, and I can get called out and lose the hand (and have to pay) because I have a better hand then I claimed.

So I have to call the straight flush. Since I know my opponent doesn’t have a floosh (which I definitely had after the luck), my raise has to be real. Doesn’t it?

But what if I didn’t have the 6 red? Could I realistically call the straight flush just to bluff a panda lord and give up a pot? I don’t think so.

Still, I got called, so what do I know?

I also got called on a floosh I had revealed (because they called my abilities to prove I had the card) because “I might have thrown away the Floosh with playfullness to get a Panda Lord.”

Pandante — Not only are jokers sometimes bad, but you can lose money when you hit your straight flushes and can consider breaking up made hands.

Written by taogaming

September 13, 2014 at 10:57 am

Posted in Session Reports

Tagged with

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think I suddenly empathize with non-gamers: that opening paragraph is perhaps the biggest pile of gobbledegook (to me) that I’ve ever seen.

    huzonfirst

    September 13, 2014 at 9:08 pm

  2. I can’t follow the hand particularly well either. It sounds like you’ve exposed a single red card and then exposed a red 7, which may or may not be the same red card you’ve shown earlier. There are three red cards on board. So your opponent knows that you have at minimum a floosh. You’ve seen opponent’s cards and you have a lock on the hand assuming you don’t get caught bluffing, and opponent, having seen the red card, is aware that you have a lock on the hand as long as you don’t bluff. You’re asking whether you should ever bluff a better hand in this spot.

    Theoretically, the answer is yes, as long as the panda lord has a nonzero value. You shouldn’t do it often, but you win a fraction of the panda lord’s value by occasionally bluffing here.

    Fred Bush

    September 14, 2014 at 11:06 am

  3. Are you holding a joker here that you drew with playfulness?

    Fred Bush

    September 14, 2014 at 11:16 am

    • No joker involved.

      taogaming

      September 14, 2014 at 2:42 pm

      • Trying to determine the value of a Panda Lord is an interesting problem.

        taogaming

        September 14, 2014 at 2:43 pm


Comments are closed.

