The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

High Five!

Partner (playing Polish) opens one club (showing a variety of hands), RHO bids 1 Spade, and I bid 2 NT invitational and Partner raises to3N, which ends the auction.

LHO leads a high club and partner tables

        S:Txx H:AJT9 D:AKJx  C:Ax
(Club 9 led)
          S:AQxx H:Qx D:Tx C:KTxxx

These opponents don’t seem like the type to lead 9 from QJ9(x), so I duck in dummy, I win the club ace and float the heart queen. This is IMPs, so I’m not taking to long with this hand. The queen looses to RHO’s king, and he leads the S4. I play the S3 and LHO plays the S2.

I now look at dummy carefully, and dummy has the Ten-Six-Five of spades.

I win the trick on dummy with the five, the other three cards being the 2-3-4.

We took a picture.

Written by taogaming

September 7, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Posted in Bridge

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve done better. RHO opened 2S, and I had six of them. LHO bid 3NT, and partner led his stiff 2. Declarer carelessly played the 3 from dummy, and I won the 4 on the first trick.

    JeffG

    September 8, 2014 at 12:31 pm

    • My partner claims someone told him a similar story of a 4 winning the first trick of a suit (2-3-4-pitch), but he thought I’d told him,

      taogaming

      September 8, 2014 at 9:04 pm

  2. It was the first trick of the deal. It was the only time I’ve ever seen that particular trick. RHO was a top player; LHO was a client. I’ve seen a trick won by the five with everyone’s following a bunch of times. It can happen pretty easily at Trick One when third hand has a stiff 2, 3, or 4. I think it’s happening more frequently these days, because more players are opening 1NT with five-card majors and missing their 5-3 fits. It’s still fun when it happens.

    JeffG

    September 9, 2014 at 12:24 pm


Comments are closed.

