The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

TV Recommendation Open Thread

Let’s see:

  • I finished The Sopranos and The Shield. I started the Wire, which seems good, but I may need to pause that to get a bit of distance from the prior two.
  • I’m enjoying BoJack Horseman. It’s not the greatest comedy, but it’s amusing. (The credits are surprisingly poignant). About halfway done, it’s growing on me.  Probably finish these this week.
  • Almost caught up on Supernatural. Watching that with the Boy.
  • I’m not optimistic about Dr. Who, although Capaldi may rescue it.
  • Once they hit Netflix I’ll finish How I Met Your Mother (inertia) and continue Arrow. Did Agents of Shield pick up (I gave up after 3 episodes, but the TaoLing is 11, so it may be a watch together thing).

I’ve pretty much blown through all the recent movies I want to see. So, the Queue is weak and need assistance. Remember, I just have Netflix these days (except for a few series I buy from Amazon).

Written by taogaming

August 30, 2014 at 10:19 am

Posted in TV & Media

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A Field in England was a recent enjoyable watch.

    Ben

    August 30, 2014 at 12:43 pm

  2. Also, recently blew through the first two seasons of Vikings (History Channel). For the most part, quite good.

    Ben

    August 30, 2014 at 7:55 pm

  3. Agents of Shield was hit and miss at firt, but when about halfway through the Captain America movie came out, the series really turned up a couple of notches.

    peer

    August 31, 2014 at 7:23 am

  4. Agree on Vikings. Sherlock (BBC) is good, and Luther (BBC), though I needed subtitles to enjoy the latter.

    Charles Feduke

    August 31, 2014 at 1:25 pm

  5. Highly recommend Borgen (mix of political maneuvering and relationships, from Denmark). I think there were four seasons, and the show is now over. Les Revenants is a really well-done French series about people who wish their loved ones could return to them and what happens when they do; I think the second season is currently in production. Both series use subtitles.

    B Wingrave

    August 31, 2014 at 4:02 pm

    • I liked Les Revenants. Not great, but solid.

      taogaming

      September 3, 2014 at 9:01 pm

  6. Check out Rick and Morty if you haven’t. I think you can still watch them for free on the Adult Swim website. It’s only 11 half hour episodes (first one is a little weak) so it won’t add much to the queue.

    frunk

    September 3, 2014 at 2:23 pm


Comments are closed.

