The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Moongha Invaders

Sometimes it feels like Age of Steam is the last Wallace game I truly enjoyed. (That’s not true, I like Automobile, London, Struggle of Empires and Age of Industry).

But I sat down to play Moongha Invaders unaware of it’s pedigree. But when I glanced at the box halfway through the game, the name explained it all. Here you have a game about Giant Monsters rampaging across the land and fighting each other, and it felt like just another action placement game.

I’ve no idea what inspired Wallace to add Random combat on top of a procedural game that typifies his design.

I was probably in a bad mood yesterday, but I’m sticking with my initial assessment.  Avoid.

Written by taogaming

February 11, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Posted in Reviews

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Try A Study in Emerald for a good recent one by Wallace.

    Rick

    February 12, 2014 at 2:03 am


Comments are closed.

