The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Official Burnout, but some Sentinels and MK thoughts

I’m burned out. I’ve been going to gaming, playing for maybe an hour, and then heading out for several weeks. So I’m taking a few weeks off.  Given my already reduced publishing schedule, you won’t see much difference. Although I may write up No Retreat 2 at some point, and I’m wondering whether to take advantage of the GMT 1/2 off sale to buy anything. I suppose I could get more Combat Commander scenarios, but I haven’t played it much recently. I’m tempted by lots of stuff, but honestly, would I play it?

So, open thread on that.

And I did notice that the computerized WiF is supposedly coming soon. Again, not something I’d desperately get, but it’s tempting. This is the sort of game I tried to play, but it was just too damn big.

I’m still playing games at home, though.

I printed out some of the Sentinels Promo characters — Team Leader Tachyon is a straight improvement over Tachyon (more HP, better power). Bunker of War can be amazing against the right villains (killing an ongoing is huge). The new Tempest seems like a downgrade. The new wraiths are situational. I like Young Legacy. The Fanatic Redeemer can be nice, again, situational. I’ll be trying the rest soon. This will hit 50 plays probably in next week.

I’ll get the Krang expansion for MK as soon as I see it. (I may still run by the store to get it). The combo of today’s earlier game against Legendary Volkare was fun:

  1. Play the emerald ring for infinite green and black.
  2. Play a black mana with the Altem Mages (I think) to turn all my attacks into Siege attacks.
  3. Play Into the Heat (with red mana) to give all my units +3 to their attacks.
  4. Spend 24 attack from units, plus
  5. Spend a blue (with a green and black) for 8 more attack from Manabolt.
  6. Use a variety of other cards and skills for about 16 more attack, all siege.
  7. Wipe out all 12 tokens facing during the ranged attack phase.
  8. Because it’s Volkare and cooperative, that’s only half his army. (The TaoLing faced the other half, and dealt with 3 of the four big units, but left the rest), so then … discard the Banner of (Courage?) to ready all of my units, so that I can do Steps 2,4 and 6 again next turn….

I defeated 20 units in two turns while taking a single wound. I think that’s a record. Then again, since we were holed up in the Red city, and the Taoling had +5 Reputation and +3 Influence (with Wolfhawk) and 4 markers on the city, he could recruit a free artifact every turn. He ended with 8. Combo-tastic.

 

 

Written by taogaming

October 26, 2013 at 2:36 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Drat. I was just about to email you about playing Sekigahara and/or No Retreat…

    Ben

    October 26, 2013 at 4:15 pm

  2. I’d hold off on the WiF computer game for a while unless you have money burning a hole in your pocket. It’s expensive, has no AI and is graphically fairly primitive. I’d recommend Hearts of Iron III w/expansions to scratch the same itch. The major differences are:

    HOI is real time rather than turn based, however you can pause at any time to fiddle about. Further you can set it to pause on certain events that you want to react to. I tend to play as if it was turn based, where the turns are the pausing events and the game runs at max speed. If you played any of the EU or CK Paradox computer games this system will be familiar.

    The game has a ridiculous amount of detail, down to deciding on the brigade composition of your units. It can all be overwhelming, except…

    You can pick and choose what elements of the game you want to play. There are AI managers for every portion (economic, technological, political, military, espionage) that you don’t want to bother with. They range in skill from ok to incompetent, but you can be comforted by knowing that your AI opponents aren’t any better. The military in particular has detailed automation options, anywhere from individual units up to whole theaters where you set objectives and the AI tries to execute them with the resources you give it. There are certain elements that are way too detailed for me (air combat in particular) so I always automate at some level.

    HOI III is a mature title at this point, and has several decent mods available.

    The biggest problem I have with the game is that I don’t think naval campaigns work particularly well in the game system (something that WiF does a decent job with), so I usually stick with land based powers (Germany, USSR, France).

    frunk

    October 28, 2013 at 2:36 pm


Comments are closed.

