The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Why I’ve got little to say

I’m playing the same games over and over. Right now I have five Quarters for the year, and only one of them (Coup) is short (and I have almost 50 plays of that). Netrunner is fairly fast (~20 minutes) but  I’m over 80 games so far. The others are Bridge (2-3 hours per session), Sentinels of the Multiverse & Mage Knight,

At my current rate, The City is likely to make it to 25+ games but that’s it.

And none of the newer games have really captured my attention (except Federation Commander).

I suppose at some point I could write a few thousand words about The City, but honestly I’m not sure that anything I say would be non-obvious. I do believe that fountains win slightly more than any of the alternate strategies, possibly because of the number of synergy cards.

But that’s all I’ve got right now.

Actually, while I’m rambling I’ve slightly burned out on Bridge, and have cut back my number of club games in the last month or two. It was bound to happen after ~5 years of pretty constant play. Having a terrible regional didn’t help.

Also, while I’m thinking about it. Congrats to David Grainger on his first (US) National Victory. (He’s won a Canadian National event). I met David at the Gathering this spring, and he was at the San Antonio Regional, where his team unsurprisingly destroyed mine in the evening Knock Outs.

Written by taogaming

August 17, 2013 at 11:13 am

