The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

A Love Note

I’m just getting over whatever funk I had. (Actually I think I got over the cold Tuesday, but had allergies for the last few days, which I’ve fixed by various dark magicks). So, in that case, a brief discussion to the first game from the Gathering that I thoroughly enjoyed — Love Letter.

Love Letter is often compared to Coup; probably because both use a handful of cards to create fast, compelling game play.

But they strike me as reasonably different. Coup is a bluffing game, albeit with a large tactical element. (Incidentally, Larry’s comment that “Only You could write a 3000 word strategy article on a game with only 100 words of rules” was one of the highlights of my Gathering). Love Letter is a minimalist hand management game with some deduction and bluffing.

Minimalist because your hand is only two cards, and only during your turn. But by observation (and the clever card effects) you can guess what people kept.

Love Letter isn’t perfect. Some complain because you can be out of a hand before you get to play (due to a lucky guess of an opponent). Or you have no decisions to make (because of what you are dealt). But each hand is maybe two or three minutes, slightly more than a poker hand. And I know how I feel about people who complain when they have to fold a poker hand. (Excellent. That sucker plays too many hands. But also a whiner).

Honestly, Coup is the better game. There aren’t a thousand words of strategy in Love Letter to be found. But it’s still great.

Rating — Suggest

Written by taogaming

April 26, 2013 at 8:18 am

Posted in Reviews

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’d be more interested in giving this a try, but the theme worries me. Down that dark path leads a trail that leads to games like Mystery Date, Heartthrob, and WOW! The Pillow Fight Game for Girls.

    Ben

    April 26, 2013 at 11:56 am


Comments are closed.

