The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Ginkgopolis

Clever enough, but unimpressive.

I’m honestly not sure why. It didn’t feel JASEy, despite the resource management and area control. It has new ideas. It doesn’t jell. Judging from the response I think a lot of people like it, but few love it.

On the other hand, we played with five and I suspect that’s highly chaotic. It might play much better with two or three. I think that gives you more control, and since the bulk of the points come from areas, and which tile is part of which area can change each round, our game was chaotic. Perhaps five is a mistake.

But the box lists 1-5, so it’s not my mistake. Opine I shall.

Rating – Indifferent

Written by taogaming

January 15, 2013 at 1:08 pm

Posted in Reviews

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re sure playing a lot of Euros lately, Brian. Are you sure you’re feeling alright?

    My buddy Ben (Chally on the Geek) is a big fan of Ginkgopolis and he says that you need to spend at least as much time developing your engine with the cards as you do worrying about majorities with the board play. There’s a lot of points to be had with the former and that aspect is much less chaotic. My reaction to my first game was much the same as yours, but he’s convinced me to play the game differently the next time I try it. So I’m withholding my final verdict until then.

    huzonfirst

    January 15, 2013 at 8:46 pm


Comments are closed.

