The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Life Master is just a title … maybe

This weekend was the North American Pairs qualifiers for District 16 (Texas).

The short form is that I didn’t qualify … but my partner and I were playing in the top division (Flight A), despite the fact that he’s Flight B and I could have played in Flight C if I chose to.

But I didn’t plan to go to Nationals anyway; we played up. We barely missed the cut to make it to the second day (19th out of 39, missed by 4 matchpoints over two sessions) but one pair dropped so we got in. That meant that we played 3 boards against each of the other 17 qualifying pairs.

In general, they’re better than us. But few felt out of my league. We were slightly below average the second day (again), but finished 13th.

In many ways, it felt like a club game, just minus two gifts per session. (We did still get gifts, just fewer).

Overall, good practice and a good weekend.

Written by taogaming

January 8, 2013 at 5:30 pm

Posted in Bridge

