The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Bridge Gloating

Since I don’t gloat enough, I’ll just point out that I had a decent week of bridge. Two seconds at the recent STAC (although both games conflicted with the local NBA playoff game, so small turnout) and a dominant win in yesterday’s “Every flight A must be counterbalanced by a flight C player” swiss teams.  Of course, in that last event I’m a ringer.

All the really interesting hands I messed up on, so in keeping with the general “let’s be positive” nature of gloating just know that I have magnanimously absolved myself of all blame or, like a batter walking back to the dugout, intend to forget my mistakes.

Also tried out Nightfall last night with The Boy. Interesting ideas, although I think that grasping the implication of LIFO is a bit beyond him. I’m working on a Stemwinding geeklist on deckbuilders, but it’s mainly been old games and bridge, so little new content…

Written by taogaming

May 20, 2012 at 10:18 am

Posted in Bridge

Tagged with

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve got Nightfall for the iPad and I’m not particularly impressed. The multiplayer seems super random, and at some point in the headsup game it stops being useful buying cards, and it becomes “who can draw their combos?” But I’ll try it on Monday and we’ll see if you can prove me wrong.

    Frederic Bush

    May 20, 2012 at 10:33 am

  2. You linked a wikipedia article, but aren’t queues by definition FIFO? I think a LIFO data structure is more commonly called a pushdown stack. Or am I out of touch?

    Eric Brosius

    May 20, 2012 at 4:48 pm

    • Eric, mathematically speaking, a queue is just a group of customers waiting for service. Once they’re there, you use the queue’s queueing discipline to determine the order in which the customers are served. FIFO is probably the most common one, but LIFO is possible, as is processor sharing, priority service, and other methods. But it’s not true that queues use a FIFO discipline *by definition*.

      huzonfirst

      May 21, 2012 at 9:45 pm

      • Larry, computer-science-ly speaking, I think Eric is right. A stack is LIFO and a queue is FIFO, according to Cormen, Leiserson, et al.’s Algorithm book.

        Joe J. Rushanan

        May 22, 2012 at 2:26 pm

      • Well, the mathematical discipline of queueing theory is over 100 years old, dating back to Erlang’s work in telephony. At that point in time, Computer Science was but a glimmer in little John von Neumann’s eye, as he was more concerned with his own potty training. I will concede that the term means different things in different fields. However, I will note that the non-FIFO queueing disciplines I mentioned are used most often in the analysis of computer, server, and router networks.

        huzonfirst

        May 22, 2012 at 9:30 pm

  3. No, just a mental error.

    taogaming

    May 20, 2012 at 6:18 pm

  4. In general I wouldn’t play Nightfall with more than 3 players.

    I wouldn’t put the “who can draw their combo” criticism as a issue with the game, since the point is to build effective combos both with your own deck and off of other player’s. Once you have those combos at a sufficient concentration the game is done and it should end within 1-3 turns.

    frunk

    May 21, 2012 at 10:58 am


Comments are closed.

