The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Quick Comments

Hotel Samoa — A blind bidding game. I dislike that genre, but H.S. was inoffensive.

Played a game of Triumvirate where I got no 7s (which isn’t too unlikely). So I pledged the red & yellow ‘5s’ (the only ones I saw) and waited to get a ‘3’ in either suit (to try to win with that suit). Never saw either ‘3’ in the last 4 hands, despite flushing them out several times. Thankfully a fast game.

Not sure how I feel about 7 Wonders – Leaders. Amusing but random.

Playing lots of Puzzle Strike, enjoying the expansion. I wonder if there’s a good poker case that would fit those chips…the insert was great, but with the expansion there are too many chips.

Pondering Core Worlds. Openings and strategy.

Written by taogaming

April 3, 2012 at 9:56 pm

Posted in Misc

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am becoming allergic to expansions, but thought Leaders was harmless enough and a bit of fun (which is all 7 Wonders is!).

    My Puzzle Strike chips want into the tray, after I slipped the blanks and old character chips underneath. But, as Scotty says, it can’t take much more of this…

    Doug

    April 4, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    • Yeah, I took out the blanks and old chips as well. Didn’t realize they fit under the insert. That will help.

      taogaming

      April 7, 2012 at 2:19 pm

  2. I think Leaders considerably improves 7 Wonders, by giving it a strategic element. 7 Wonders is what it is, but if I’m going to play it, I want to play it with smaller numbers and with the Leaders expansion. Not at all sure what’s random about the expansion.

    huzonfirst

    April 4, 2012 at 6:58 pm

  3. You can get synergies from your set of leaders, or not, and there’s only a little downstream control over that.

    I strongly prefer 7W with Leaders, though. I like the increased asymmetry. I also like dealing with the “I’m all set up to do X, but I have a hand of ~X” kinds of problems that emerge. Good stuff. But kinda random.

    Jon W

    April 5, 2012 at 9:06 am

  4. The Leaders expansion encourages even further specialization in a game that already is specialization heavy. It leaves you to the vagaries of the card draw to an uncomfortable degree while slowing the game down.

    There are tons of effects that make it easier to play cards, but none that make it easier to obtain specific cards. Without some sort of compensation in that direction I much prefer base 7 Wonders.

    frunk

    April 5, 2012 at 11:42 am


Comments are closed.

