The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

German Railways

After years of unanxious waiting, I played Preuβische Ostbahn earlier this week. We got a few rules wrong, but in general this struck me as a game that could work across a spectrum of gamers. The hard core people like it, of course, but for the simpler player you can view it as a Power Grid style “I want to manipulate turn order” game.

Of course, the controversial aspect is the random turn order. Players with lower income (which is only paid during a merger) get more shots at a turn each round. Some people aren’t going to like that. But the interesting part (to me) is that all the players are manipulating the game length and (yes, again) alliances based on who owns which stock.

I’m not sure that this totally replaces Wabash (which I also played again a few weeks ago), but it certainly seems much more accessible. And, given that I’ve only played P.O. once, fresher.

Current Feeling– Suggest.

 

Written by taogaming

January 26, 2012 at 6:56 pm

Posted in Reviews

Tagged with

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have you tried American Rails? Prefer it to Wabash and German Rails…

    Matthew Chua

    January 26, 2012 at 9:41 pm

  2. I have not. Therefore I’ll put it on my watchlist….

    taogaming

    January 28, 2012 at 5:18 pm

  3. […] from German Railways, I also tried Oltre Mare this week. Clever idea, but I’m […]

  4. American Rails is pretty hard to get. I think the designer has a couple of copies left from the fourth (and final?) printing. Very good game… better than Wabash/CE. Hopefully will try German Rails soon.

    Doug

    February 1, 2012 at 7:09 pm


Comments are closed.

