The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Observations, Jan ’12 edition

  1. Kids flag football has binary yardage. Gains can be categorized as “No gain” or “Touchdown”
  2. Still undecided on Ora et Labora, but I’m pretty sure I like Walnut Grove.
  3. I disbelieve the Cub Scouts Pinewood Derby timers are accurate to the sub-millisecond level, no matter what they display on the scoreboard (even if it is computerized). There were two pinewood derby batmobiles, a wii-mote, a Nintendo DS (with hinged top!) and a a tank with gun.
  4. I’ve now rated 1300 games on BGG. That’s a lot of scalps games. I need to update my comments on a lot of them.
  5. TV right now — Justified, Archer, Downton Abbey (Season 2). BBC America is marathoning Luther Season 2. Slowly catching up on Arrested Development. Watched an Episode of “Increasingly Poor Decisions of Todd Margeret” (OK) and “Snuff Box” (Meh). I think that there’s a fine line between comedy and just awkwardness that many modern comedians can’t find the spot on. (For example, I live Jon Benjamin in Archer, but every single thing I’ve seen where he has creative control isn’t that funny).
Written by taogaming

January 22, 2012 at 11:31 am

Posted in Misc

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 3. A perfect example of the difference between accuracy and precision.

    JeffG

    January 24, 2012 at 1:03 pm


Comments are closed.

