The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Ora et Labora

At what point does  “This incrementally improves the author’s previous system” become a damning indictment? I want to edge close to that line, but not cross it.

On first glance, better than Le Havre (which I owned and sold because I feel there’s only one way to win).

But there’s really not much to say. So rather than drag this out:

  • Clever resource growth (“The wheel”)
  • Nice spatial element
  • Lots of ways to get points
  • Feels like Le Havre with a zillionty resources to manage
  • Non-obvious decisions abound

Rating — Indifferent-Suggest borderline (because of novelty. We’ll see).

Written by taogaming

January 17, 2012 at 6:01 pm

Posted in Session Reports

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hear you. I haven’t played it, but I have read the rules. I’ve come to terms with LH (only play it with 3+), and still like Agricola (esp. with the expansion), so pencil me in for “damning indictment”.

    Jon W

    January 18, 2012 at 9:54 am

    • I played it once. I think you could throw away about half the resources and buildings and improve the game. No surprise, I feel the same way about LH. But I very much like Agricola.

      Dan

      January 18, 2012 at 12:29 pm


Comments are closed.

