The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

No Retreat first play

Played a game of Barbarossa … it was pretty slow going, because we were going over rules and still looking things up. (In fact, despite both having read the rules recently, we still glossed over the ‘No Infiltration’ rule. I somehow that that friendly units totally negated EZOCs, but they only negate it for retreating and supply. Oops). Anyway, the Germans did the usual damage on T1G, but then advanced on T1R. This meant by Turn 2 they were threatening to outrun their supply (and came perilously close). In fact, an attack on the forest SW of Tula was required to handle a tricky supply, and the Germans needed to advance into the square to negate the EZOC of the adjacent units. I played a card to switch all retreats into exchanges, which cost the Germans several steps and a card (to force a reroll to keep supply). The Russians got another advance on T3R, I think and took Moscow and Leningrad on T4G.  Moscow only fell because of the siege artillery the Germans had been hording since the game started.

At this point I violated the no infiltration rule and we woke up, but allowed it to see if the Russians could retake Moscow. I got several good cards (including playing Confusing Hitler Orders to cancel a forced discard and replace itself), but the Germans had several cards that doubled a unit on defense, and I couldn’t retake moscow.

A bit long, but the first real game for both players. Looking forward to playing this more.

Written by taogaming

November 15, 2011 at 12:16 am

Posted in Session Reports

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I took Leningrad on turn 3 I think, along with Tula. Moscow on 4.

    Frederic Bush

    November 15, 2011 at 1:23 am

  2. Friendly units don’t totally negate the ZOC for movement, but they do partially negate it – you can go ZOC-ZOC but have to stop immediately. This seems to become important in later scenarios for getting guys extracted from OOS positions. It’s a little more useful for the Germans because they can stack.

    Chris Farrell

    November 15, 2011 at 2:59 am

  3. […] I’ve now played another game of No Retreat (as well as several sessions of just pushing chits around, which I find enjoyable. I don’t think too hard and just discover possibilities. I’m keeping my rating at ’8′ (which reminds me, I have a discussion about ratings. A benign rant, perhaps. But some other day), and I’ve played “Fall Blau,” but there are some things that I must admit (although I stand by my initial thoughts: […]


Comments are closed.

