The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

No Retreat!

After stinking for two days at bridge, I decided to unwind by setting up No Retreat and pushing chits around for Barbarossa. I got a few details wrong here and there (in particular, I think the Panzers slightly outran their supply chain on T3 and I didn’t notice until later), and there are a fair number of rules and novel systems, but overall this really does stand out as a low density, high fog of war (via card events) game. The Axis, aided by the supply genie and amazingly nice weather (drawing 3 weather events to negate the first winter) managed to take Moscow and Sevastopol (and almost take the oil fields on the Caucasus for good measure). Having to pay cards to rebuild destroyed troops fits thematically, and means that you’ll have tension between cards-as-events and cards-as-troops. And there’s enough variety in the deck (even in the abbreviated game I saw) to provide plenty of uncertainty about your opponents abilities. A tense little game of maneuver, that I hope to get to the table soon.

Written by taogaming

November 12, 2011 at 11:34 pm

Posted in Reviews

Tagged with

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I do really recommend all the mid-war scenarios (S’42, W’42, S’43), they all play fast, are interesting for both sides, and seem well-balanced.

    I’ll be at BGG.con Wed PM & Thu if you’d be interested in a game of this (or Sekigahara).

    Chris Farrell

    November 13, 2011 at 1:02 am

    • I haven’t made a BGG Con yet. I think next year may be the one I finally break down and go to (as there’s a growing local contingent going, money and kid timing is starting to work, etc). I haven’t actually been too torn up about missing it, but wargaming may be enough to convince me….

      taogaming

      November 13, 2011 at 12:24 pm

  2. Shoving around Barbarossa only took ~2 hours (with a fair number of pauses to read cards, rules etc). A turn doesn’t take long, assuming no AP. But there is a lot to consider… I’ll probably be playing Barb. for my next few games, as I’ll have to teach it. Let the opponents take the Germans and go…

    taogaming

    November 13, 2011 at 12:23 pm

  3. Hm, hadn’t really looked at this title before, but it sounds intriguing (and playable!). I was let down by a read-through of Raicer’s Stalin’s War; that was the last eastern front game I’ve looked at.

    How do you think this stacks up against EastFront II? Shorter, snappier, more angsty?

    Jon W

    November 14, 2011 at 10:16 am


Comments are closed.

