The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

A few miles of snow

Now that I’ve played A Few Acres of Snow 3 times, I’m thinking about British strategy. The French start with more VP, a free regular infantry in the deck (and free regular infantry in general), better rangers (the CdB). The British start with better money (12 to 5, although if you buy a regular infantry, that nullifies the edge) and a significantly leaner deck (7 to 11)

Obviously that last one should be an edge, but I can’t figure out how to take advantage of it. The obvious ploy is to wait until you are about to reshuffle and toss in a few cards that the French can’t react to (raids, military, etc) until they reshuffle. But I’ll be damned if I can figure out what’s best. No doubt if I play the French I’ll learn soon enough.

PS — King of Tokyo is super light, but amusing. Good game for the middle kids (not toddler young, but 7 is fine).

Written by taogaming

August 30, 2011 at 7:53 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. One thing I realized today is that settling all those British village locations (e.g., Richmond, Baltimore) may not be a good idea. Sure, you get a few VPs, but you clog your deck up with more and more location cards. I played a game in which I didn’t settle all those spots and it made my deck just a little bit faster.

    Eric Brosius

    August 30, 2011 at 9:05 pm

  2. I think the other British advantage is that their economic engine is superior.

    Frederic Bush

    August 30, 2011 at 10:33 pm

  3. The Brits also have a bunch of cards with settlers on them, while the French only have one (and neutral settlers are very pricey). This makes it much easier for them to either settle a bunch of locations or upgrade the ones they have. I also find it simpler to keep the British deck lean than when I’m playing the French.

    I’d offer advice, but I’m still working out ways of playing both sides myself. Sure am enjoying it, though.

    huzonfirst

    August 30, 2011 at 10:49 pm

  4. Eric, I had that same problem the one game I played with the British. I ended up using the card that lets you return cards to the supply; eventually, between that and having most of the remainder of the deck tied up in a siege, I was reshuffling every turn.

    William

    August 31, 2011 at 3:44 pm


Comments are closed.

