The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Web Slinging & Other stuff

Let’s see:

Eh, may as well make it a media post, too.

  • Been netflixing classic movies to show the boy, but apart from that.
  • Almost caught up on Futurama. Glad it’s back.
  • Watching the recently released season of Dexter. Inertia, mainly.
  • I’ve seen two of the PBS Mystery “Zen.” I like Rufus Sewell … it’s amusing. I’ll watch the 3rd soon.
  • I can’t summon the will to push on with Warehouse 13. Ditto Leverage (which I gave only 1/2 a season to).
  • I watched the first “Season” of Children’s Hospital. (10 five minute episodes). At that length the jokes don’t drag. I’ll spare an hour for the next season.
  • Battle LA was better than Skyline. FWIW.
  • It’s kinda a funny story — fixed that for you.
  • I did like “How do you know.” — What can I say, I’m a sucker for RomComs that mix baseball with SEC indictments.
  • Anyone seen Fright Night … I’m tempted, but it’s probably just a rental. Especially because of the 3-D thing.
  • Still enjoying Wilfred. Very juvenile. Archer’s back in a month…
Written by taogaming

August 20, 2011 at 11:34 pm

Posted in Misc, TV & Media

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There seems to be less meaty releases this year, but the ones that are coming out are slightly more interesting. I expect I will get the majority of the games on the list, even though I am uncertain how many of them will last longer than five plays.

    Jesse Dean

    August 21, 2011 at 12:22 am

  2. Warehouse 13 is popcorn TV. Sure, the plotting is lazy and the very concept absurd (seems like all it takes to imbue an object with artifact powers is to attain a tiny bit of fame). The cast has chemistry, it’s a breezy 42 minutes, and it’s a good schedule-mate with Alphas. Very much looking forward to the HG Wells spinoff, although I hope it’s not set in London circa 1900 as in last week’s episode– I find her much more interesting as a Victorian fish out of water in modern times than as a genius super-agent in her own time.

    Peter Sarrett

    August 21, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    • I like the idea but the stunt casting (and Eureka crossovers) annoy me. I agree with the good chemistry, too.

      taogaming

      August 22, 2011 at 11:11 pm

      • Alphas, at least through the first 5 episodes, is much better than I expected. It is definitely the most mature superhero show I’ve ever seen on TV. Eureka and W13 are both too popcorn for me. I’ve given them chances, but although charming, they are just too lightweight.

        Lou W

        August 23, 2011 at 10:32 pm

  3. Curse you for showing me the link to Kingdom Rush…

    Mark Jackson

    August 22, 2011 at 1:39 pm

  4. I also enjoy tower defense games so thanks for Kingdom Rush — I wasted several hours with it. However, it doesn’t seem to add much to the genre. Also, I prefer versions that allow freer placement of towers and aren’t quite so reliant on frantically managing my forces/resources. (Acknowledging that that last quality is often what people enjoy about such games.)

    Greg Aleknevicus

    August 22, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    • Well, I prefer free placement, but I thought the monsters (and paths that sometimes had them take shortcuts) as well as managing reinforcements were novel.

      taogaming

      August 22, 2011 at 11:09 pm

  5. Thanks very much Kingdom Rush. I’ve been grinding away at Gemcraft Labyrinth, but this was refreshingly different from that.

    Mikko Saari

    August 23, 2011 at 6:39 am


Comments are closed.

